György Ligeti 1923-2006
 Photo Anderson 1982 (Schott)
 This is a site dedicated to research on the music of György Ligeti (1923-2006), the Hungarian composer, one of the most significant figures in 20th/21st Century music. The site contains research by Dr Mike Searby and Dr John Cuciurean, links to recordings and links to useful sources of information on the web. Suggestions for additions to this site are welcomed - please contact Mike Searby: searbymike@gmail.com


György Ligeti Symposium Helsinki 2017
 February 10–11th, 2017
Sibelius Academy, University of the Arts Helsinki, Finland


The DocMus Doctoral School at the Sibelius Academy, University of the Arts Helsinki, invites performers, composers, researchers and students to take part in the conference György Ligeti Symposium Helsinki 2017, organized in collaboration with the contemporary music festival Musica nova Helsinki 2017.

Themes and topics 

The symposium concentrates on the following themes, but proposals on other aspects of Ligeti´s music are also welcome. Alongside scholarly presentations, the organizing committee encourages performers to submit proposals on lecture recitals.

Issues of performance
Music-analytical and stylistic approaches 
Ligeti´s influence on music of our time
In addition to scholarly presentations and lecture recitals, the symposium will also feature concerts as part of its varied program , including performances of Ligeti´s Piano Etudes and music influenced by Ligeti.

Invited keynote speakers include:

 Prof. Jonathan W. Bernard
Composer Lukas Ligeti
Prof. Fredrik Ullén

Ligeti Conference in Romania May 2016

 Ligeti’s Legacy in Retrospect hosted at “I. Lapedatu” Hall of the National Bank of Romania, on 26 and 27 May, 2016.
The event is organised within the Festival : A Tribute to György Ligeti in his Native Transylvania
(Festival director: Bianca Ţiplea Temeş)
The conference features an exciting line-up of contributors and aims to provide a forum for a dialogue among scholars from various musical standpoints while presenting a portrait of the composer 10 years after his death.
We would be happy to welcome participants from abroad, no participation fee required. If you are interested, please send an email to the following address, mentioning your name and affiliation: 

See below attached details.

Ligeti 2013: Celebrating the Musical Legacy of György Ligeti: October 10-12 2013 
This will take place at Florida State University. For full details click on Ligeti 2013

There are two books on Ligeti's music coming out in 2011/12: György Ligeti: Of Foreign Lands and Strange Sounds ed. L. Duchesneau and W.Marx, Boydell Press Sept. 2011.
Ligeti's Laments: Nostalgia, Exoticism and the Absolute
by A. Bauer, Ashgate, Sept. 2011. 

Ligeti's Later Music: Sketches, Techniques and Style - journal issue of Contemporary Music Review December 2012 click on  Ligeti issue

Here is a link to Ligeti On Desert Island Discs (BBC) Click to listen

I have added my !987 MusM thesis on the Chamber Concerto here Home
Ligeti Conference in London 2012: https://sites.google.com/site/ligeticonferencelondon2011/home
The papers from this conference have been published in Contemporary Music Review click on Contemporary Music Review
Friday 30th March 2012 at Senate House, London University (Institute of Musical Research http://music.sas.ac.uk/ ). Focusing on Ligeti's later music. Speakers will include: Prof Richard Steinitz, Prof. Jane Clendinning, Prof. Peter Wiegold, Dr. Amy Bauer, Dr. Wolfgang Marx, Dr John Cucuirean, Dr. Stephen Taylor and Dr Mike Searby. Ian Pace will be giving a lecture recital on Ligeti's Piano Etudes, and Peter Wiegold will be running a analysis workshop for student composers. The conference will end with a performance of Ligeti's Poème Symphonique for 100 metronomes. See below attachments of the conference abstracts and the details.

See the Schott web page for the latest performances of Ligeti's music http://www.schott-music.com/shop/persons/az/11540/performances/

Mike Searby,
7 Apr 2016, 06:41
Mike Searby,
7 Apr 2016, 06:42
Mike Searby,
15 Nov 2011, 06:28
Mike Searby,
24 Oct 2011, 01:19