Applying speech technology to LENA corpora

This workshop is financed with the support of the LabX-IEC, within the program New Ideas (in Linguistics).


Workshop was held on Saturday November 22, 2014 at the Ecole Normale Supérieure (29, rue d'Ulm, Paris, France)


The Language ENvironment Analysis (LENA) system consists of a variety of tools building on daylong audio recordings gathered from infants and children (and those around them) as they go about their normal life. The present workshop seeks to bring together people working with LENA and/or speech technology, to explore synergies and try to build a research network. Specifically, we will discuss the opportunities and challenges afforded by LENA data, and how speech technology could be used to boost LENA's descriptive power. LENA users will describe the datasets they work with and how they think speech technology can help. Speech technology experts will introduce the types of challenges they have worked with in the past and how they think LENA data would be of interest to them. 

The final schedule is availableThe topics that are part of the main program are:

NEWS!
We are having follow-up meetings 
    2015-01-12: watch the gotomeeting video here.
    2015-02-18: watch the gotomeeting video here.


Organizing committee & volunteers
Alex Cristia (CNRS, LSCP) 
Emmanuel Dupoux (EHESS, LSCP) 
Roberta Pinna (EHESS, LSCP)
Rolland Thiollière (LSCP)
Clémence Almeras (LSCP, NPI)
Page Piccinini (UCSD)
Julia Carbajal (LSCP)

Final participant list
If you see errors in the list below, please email alecristia@gmail.com.

Name (affiliation) Joining email
Alex Cristia (CNRS, LSCP) In person alecristia@gmail.com
Camille Fernandes (U Sorbonne-Nouvelle, France) In person cf.camillefernandes@gmail.com
Clémence Almeras (LSCP, France) In person clemencealmeras@gmail.com
David van Leeuwen (Radboud U, Netherlands) In person david.vanleeuwen@gmail.com
Emmanuel Dupoux (EHESS, LSCP) In person emmanuel.dupoux@gmail.com
Henny Yeung (CNRS, LPP, France) In person henny.yeung@parisdescartes.fr
Hung Thai-Van (INSERM, France) In person hthaivan@gmail.com
Imran Mulla (Ear Foundation, UK) In person imran@earfoundation.org.uk
Julia Carbajal (LSCP, France) In person mariajuliacarbajal@yahoo.com.ar
Kim Coulter (LENA Foundation, USA) In person kimcoulter@lenafoundation.org
Maarten Versteegh (LSCP, France) In person maartenversteegh@gmail.com
Marie-Thérèse LE NORMAND (INSERM, France) In person marie-therese.lenormand@inserm.fr
Mohamed Chetouani (ISIR, France -- couldn't make it) In person chetouani@isir.upmc.fr
Page Piccinini (UCSD, USA) In person ppiccinini@ucsd.edu
Paula Fikkert (Radboud U, Netherlands) In person paula.fikkert@gmail.com
Petra van Alphen (Kentalis, Netherlands) In person P.Vanalphen@kentalis.nl
Thomas Schatz (LSCP, France) In person thomas.schatz.1986@gmail.com
Tobias Busch (KU Leuven & Cochlear, Belgium) In person tbusch@cochlear.com
Ulrika Löfkvist (Karolinska University Hospital, Linköping University, Sweden) In person ulrika.lofkvist@karolinska.se
Andrew Kendrick (Cochlear) Offline AKendrick@cochlear.com
Mark Clements (Georgia Institute of Technology, US) Offline clements@ece.gatech.edu
Caitlin Fausey (U of Oregon, US) Offline cmfausey@gmail.com
Christina Bergmann (LSCP, France) Offline chbergma@gmail.com
Dongxin Xu (LENA, US) Offline DongxinXu@lenafoundation.org
Hanna Elo (U of Tampere, Finland) Offline Hanna.Elo@uta.fi
Laura Dilley (Michigan State University, USA) Offline ldilley@msu.edu
Marília Lott (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil) Offline marilialott@gmail.com
Melanie Soderstrom (U of Manitoba, Canada) Offline M.Soderstrom@umanitoba.ca
Michelle McGillion (U Sheffield, UK, UTC) Offline m.mcgillion@sheffield.ac.uk
Shichuan Du (LENA, US) Offline ShichuanDu@lenafoundation.org
Suzi Lima (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil) Offline suzilima1@gmail.com
Tiffany G. Woynaroski (U Vanderbilt, US) Offline tiffany.g.woynaroski@vanderbilt.edu
Titia Benders (University of Newcastle; UTC+10) Offline titia.benders@newcastle.edu.au
Adriana Weisleder (NYU, US; UTC-6) Remotely adriana.weisleder@gmail.com
Alice Eriks-Brophy (U of Toronto, Canada; UTC-6) Remotely a.eriks.brophy@utoronto.ca
Amanda Seidl (Purdue U; UTC-6) Remotely aseidl@purdue.edu
Anne Warlaumont (U of C-Merced, US; UTC-8) Remotely anne@annewarlaumont.org
Elika Bergelson (U Rochester, US; UTC-6) Remotely elika.bergelson@gmail.com
Hillary Ganek (U of Toronto, Canada; UTC-6) Remotely hillary.ganek@mail.utoronto.ca
Mark VanDam (Washington S U, US; UTC-8) Remotely mark.vandam@wsu.edu
Saji Maruthurkkara (Cochlear; UTC+10) Remotely smaruthurkkara@cochlear.com
William Jarrold (Natural Language Understanding; UTC-8) Remotely william.jarrold@gmail.com