VOTE LARRY PERLMAN FOR COUNCILLOR

 TORONTO WARD 7 (YORK WEST)


Homepage Blog Background  In The News  Accomplishments  Promises   Vision  Contact Me

Summary:

I am 42 years old, the son of immigrant parents, born in Toronto, raised in the GTA and, after finishing school, continued to live and work in Toronto.  My wife Teresa and I have been married 4 years and have been residents of Ward 7 for 3 years (our first home).  Presently self-employed as an equities trader, my work experience centres around Banking & Investments, useful tools in understanding the "numbers" behind large organizations (even the City of Toronto).  I hold an MBA in Finance and a BA in Political Science & Economics, which, combined with my work experience, will be effective in asking the right questions at City Hall.

In addtion, I am deeply involved in my community, along with local & national charity work.  A brief listing of my qualifications are found below.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Born:                                City of Toronto in 1964

Family:                             Married to my beautiful wife Teresa for four years (no kids yet)

Resident of the GTA:     All my life (except 4 years at University in Montreal) 

Resident of Ward 7:       Three years (our first home)

University:                       BA in Political Science & Economics (McGill University)

                                           MBA in Finance (McMaster University)

Past Work Experience:   CiBC - Financial Analyst (IT Department)

                                           Bank of Montreal - Management Training Program

                                           Bank of America Canada - Analyst & Corporate Account Manager

                                           Transamerica Commercial Finance - Credit Manager

Presently Working:          Equities Trader (Self-Employed)

Community & Volunteer Work

  Community Work:

  • Humber Summit Resource Centre (2004-June 2006)
        • Member of Community Advisory Council
        • Steering Committee For Humberfest Festival (September 2005)
  • Canadian Cancer Society (2005) Steering Committee - Etobicoke Relay For Life (June 2005) 
  • Humber Summit Neighbourhood Watch Representative (August 2006) 

   Volunteer At Annual Charity Events:

  •  Heart & Stroke Foundation
        • Ride For Heart  (7 years)
        • Mother/Daughter Walk (6 years)
  • MS Society - Walk For MS (6 years)
  • Alzheimers Society - Alzheimers Walk (4 years)
  • Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation - Run For The Cure (6 years)
  • World Wildlife Foundation (WWF) Canada - CN Tower Climb (4 years)
  • United Way of Greater Toronto - CN Tower Climb (4 years)