Katie Elder, M.A.

Industrial and Organizational Psychology

George Mason University


I am in my final stages as a doctoral candidate in the Industrial Organizational program at George Mason University in Fairfax, VA.  I am originally from North Carolina and completed my undergraduate degree in psychology at North Carolina State University.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about George Mason's program, my research interests or my applied experience. 



I have over three years of experience teaching or serving as a lab instructor for a variety of courses, including Organizational Behavior, Research Methods in Psychology, Advanced Statistics and Research Methods, and Introduction to Psychology. I am interested in teaching those courses again, along with a variety of courses such as Negotiation, Leadership, and Social Psychology.  I feel strongly about creating an interactive learning environment where students feel engaged and enthusiastic about learning.



The majority of my research is focused on diversity/discrimination issues, person-organization relationships (i.e., psychological contracts, perceived respect), or statistical methodology. In my research on diversity issues and person-organization relationships, I strive to not only identify current issues, but also recommend and test solutions to those issues with the overall goal of making organizations more fair and pleasant places to work.



I have been working as a human capital consultant for five years at a small consulting firm, Federal Management Partners (FMP), in Alexandria, VA.  In my role as a consultant, I have applied my knowledge gained in my graduate studies to a variety of projects for various federal agencies. I have created personnel selection tools (i.e., online assessment questions and behavior-based interviews), developed and delivered training, conducted job analyses and competency models, and am currently working on a project to increase employee engagement.



I am from the mountains of North Carolina and like going back to visit family and enjoy the outdoors. I am a big fan of both playing and watching sports, I love to cook, discover new music/artists, travel, and spend time with friends.