Kate Sheppard Memorial Award
The Kate Sheppard Memorial Award Trust was set up to establish an annual award to provide an opportunity for a woman to develop her potential by undertaking further education, study, research or training in areas which are of value in the community of New Zealand. 
The Trust was established by a group of Christchurch women, who were also responsible for the commissioning of the Kate Sheppard National Memorial which commemorates the 1993 centennial of women’s suffrage in New Zealand.

This award (amount set either annually or biennially depending on funds by the Kate Sheppard Memorial Award Trust Advisory Committee) is available to women holding NZ Citizenship or Permanent Residency who are undertaking a special project or post graduate study of value to the wider NZ community.  It is very rare for this award to be awarded for anyone studying for an undergraduate degree so consider very carefully whether you wish to apply if you are not either studying for a post graduate degree or are undertaking a special project that would be of interest to New Zealand.
The 219 scholarship will be $2,500.  Applications open on the 1st January and close on the 30th June 2019.  Any applications received after that date will not be considered for the award.  
Application forms can either be downloaded from this site (see attachment below), sent to you directly by e-mail or by sending a stamped self-addressed envelope to:
        Kate Sheppard Memorial Award Trust
        PO Box 29-516
Copies of all application forms are photocopied to all the members of the Advisory Trust so either send 7 copies of your application or refrain from pasting them or binding them.  Thank you.
To read more about Kate Sheppard and her fight for the vote for NZ Women then the NZ Edge web page is one of the better sites.

The Committee
The Committee of the Kate Sheppard Memorial Award consists of representatives from the following organisations:
Contact Information:
        Judith Sutherland

Friends of Kate Sheppard Memorial Trust
  • Altrusa International - Christchurch
  • Association of Anglican Women
  • Dame Adrienne Stewart
  • Dame Alison Roxburgh
  • Dame Jenny Shipley
  • Dr Karen Bailey
  • Joyce Wallace
  • Judith Sutherland
  • Karen Middlemiss - in memory of Lois Middlemiss
  • Liz Baxendine
  • Mayor Lianne Dalzeil
  • Meadow Mushrooms
  • National Council of Women, Christchurch Branch
  • Ruth Dyson MP
  • Soroptimists Christchurch
  • Theresa Gattung
  • Zonta Club of Christchurch Canterbury     

Current Recipient