Sri Lankan Professionals Club in all Aspects 




Contact Us

History of Scouting
At the Begin...

At a time when Sri Lanka was a colony of the British Empire, an English engineer by the name F.G. Stevens was posted at Christ Church, Matale, a town approx. 100km North East of Colombo. His residence being right next door to the Christ Church Missionary School, he faced many a problem as the students made full of his garden and everything there. After many a problem including missing fruits and the constant disturbance of his much needed rest, he decided to do something about putting the boy's "spare time" to better use. Thus he came up with the idea starting a "Boy Scout Core" already a major success in England.

  • 1912 - Scouting in Sri Lanka by F.G. Stevens at Christ Church Matale.
  • 1914 - Scouting brought to Colombo by F.G. Stevens, at Christ Church, Galle Face, Colombo.
  • 1916 - Western Province Rally at Havelock Park, Colombo.
  • 1917 - First all Ceylon Rally at Havelock Race Course, Colombo.
  • 1921 - B.P.'s visit to Sri Lanka with Lady Olave Baden-Powell. Scouting started in Prisons.
  • 1925 - Vernon Grenier becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1930 - Scout HQ moves to an old guardroom at Galle Face, Colombo.
  • 1932 - All Ceylon Scout Craft exhibition at Katugastota, Kandy. J.H. De Saram becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1942 - K.Somasundaram becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1948 - Col. C.P. Jayawardene becomes the Chief Commissioner.New Buildings of National Headquarters. Pedru Camp-site at Nuwera-Eliya. Job Week scheme started. Sinhala and Tamil edition of Scouting for Boys published.
  • 1952 - Ceylon Jamboree at Kombi Kele (near the present BMICH, Colombo.)
  • 1954 - E.W. Kannangara becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1957 - Taking part in Jubilee Jamboree in England. Scout Council Act of Incorporation passed in Parliament.
  • 1962 - Golden Jubilee Jamboree at Race Course.
  • 1967 - Fitzroy H. Gunesekera becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1972 - C.M.P. Wanigatunga becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1977 - H. Ratnasuriya becomes Chief Commissioner. National HQ shifted to Chithampalan Gardiner Mawatha.
  • 1982 - Theodore Seneviratne becomes Chief Commissioner. Special Commomarative Stamp in honour of B.P. on 125th Birth Anniversary.
  • 1983 - 3rd National Jamboree at Anuradhapura.
  • 1984 - 2nd National Cubboree.
  • 1987 - Rex Jayasinghe becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1990 - 1st SAARC Jamboree at Vihara Maha Devi Park, Colombo.Chief Commissioner Rex Jayasinghe dies just before Jamboree. J. Lionel Silva becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1992 - 4th National Jamboree in Kurunegala. M. Mazzahim Mohideen becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1997 - K.H. Camillus Fernando becomes Chief Commissioner.
  • 1998 - 5th National Jamboree, Pallekelle, Kandy.

On my honor I promise to do my best, To do my duty to my religion and country, To help other people at all times, To obey the Scout Law.