The northern most state of Jammu and Kashmir is divided into 22 Jammu and Kashmir districts.

Anantnag: Covering an area of 3934 square kilometers, the district of Anantnag is situated 55 kilometers to the south east of the district of Srinagar. With a vast area of fertile land, the district is also known as the 'Granary of the Kashmir Valley'.

Baramulla: The headquarters of the district is the city of Baramulla, which was founded by Raja Bhimsina. The district was once a prominent gateway of the valley into the cities of Rawalpindi and Muzaffarabad now in Pakistan.

Budgam: The district was formed from the district of Srinagar in the year 1979-80. The district is divided into three tehsils of Budgam, Beerwah and Chadoora.

Doda: The district of Doda is one of the largest districts of the state of Jammu and Kashmir covering an area of 11,691 square kilometers. The district is divided into seven tehsils.

Jammu: The district is the winter capital of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The administrative offices shift from Srinagar to Jammu during the months of November to April. Covering an area of 3097 square kilometers, the district is one of the most populated districts of the state.

Kargil: The rocky district of Kargil was created out of the district of Ladakh in the year 1979. The district is situated in the heart of the Kashmir Valley at a distance of 205 kilometers from Srinagar.

Kathua: The district of Kathua is situated in the southeastern end of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The total area of 2651 square kilometers is divided into the four tehsils of Kathua, Billawar, Basholi and Hiranagar.

Kupwara: At a distance of 90 kilometers from Srinagar lies the district of Kupwara. The district was created out of the district of Baramulla in the year 1979.

Leh: The district of Leh and Kargil are a part of the region of Ladakh. The district covers an area of 44,000 square kilometers. The district has 1 tehsil and 112 villages.

Poonch: The smallest district of the state of Jammu and Kashmir is the district of Poonch. The district comprises of three tehsils. It district is of great historical importance to the state.

Pulwama: The district of Pulwama was created out of the district of Anantnag. Of the total geographical area of 1398 square kilometers, 1011 square kilometers are occupied by the forest areas. The district is reputed for the saffron cultivation and the growth of Ambree apples.

Rajouri: The district of Rajouir shares its borders with the Mirpur area of Pakistan occupied Kashmir. The district was earlier a part of the district of Poonch. It covers an area of 2630 square kilometers.

Srinagar: The district of Srinagar is centrally located in the valley of Kashmir and is the flanked by five districts on all sides. The district is the summer capital of the state and is the commercial hub of Jammu and Kashmir.

Udhampur: The district has its headquarters in the city of Udhampur. It is one of the largest districts of the state. The district is subdivided into 5 tehsils and 12 community blocks.

Some of the other Jammu and Kashmir districts are Samba, Reasi, Kishtwar, Ganderbal, Kulgam, Ramban, Shopian and Bandipore. 

                                                               OFFICIAL WEBSITES OF THE DISTRICTS OF JAMMU AND KASHMIR