Gradings    Belt System    Dojo Etiquette     History     Terminology     Stances     Strikes
The 3 K's
The core disciplines or elements of shotokan karate are Kihon (basic techniques), Kumite (sparring) and Kata (form). These are often refer to as the 3 K's of shotokan karate.
Kihon 基本
Kihon means basics which include all the basic blocks, punches, kicks, strikes, sweeps and stances.
The training of basics is essential for the development of efficient and powerful technique. We learn how to work and improve various aspects such as balance, speed, power (kime), technique and mental concentration (zanshin). Emphasis is placed on correct use of the whole body in the areas of posture, range and balance of movement and breathing. Diligent training in kihon will benefit our performance of kata and kumite as well as promote good health and fitness.

Kumite means sparring i.e. fighting  between two karate-ka with controlled techniques. Key points are fighting distance (ma'ai), rhythm, gamae (on guard), target, observation, fighting spirit and kiai (spiritual shout).
Gohon Kumite - five attack sparring.
Sanbon Kumite - three attack sparring.
Kihon Ippon Kumite - basic one attack sparring.
Kaeshi Ippon Kumite - basic one attack sparring with returning step counter attack. Example, defender blocks jodan stepping punch and counter attack with a chudan stepping punch; the attacker will then block and finish off with a final counter attack.
Jiyu Ippon Kumite - semi-free one step sparring.
Okuri Jiyu Ippon Kumite - as in jiyu ippon kumite but with a second free attack of attacker's choice without telling the defender. Defender must block and counter attack with his own choice of techniques.
Jiyu Kumite - free style sparring. Any of the afore-mentioned techniques against one's opponent without warning. 
     To watch kata vidoes performed by Sensei H Hanazawa, click HERE.
Kata means patterns or forms. It is a set of routine pattern where the various defensive and attacking techniques are put together and one is fighting against an imaginary opponent(s).
When we perform a kata we must strive for technical perfection. The movements must be performed at the correct speed and with a smooth action, finishing with good kime (focus). A good kata is one that uses strong kime, good timing, controlled complimentary breathing and a strong sense of zanshin (mental focus and awareness). As we progress and get to a higher grade we must start thinking about bunkai (kata application). Bunkai is open to interpretation and the only limit it has is that of your own imagination.
There are 26 shotokan kata plus the very first basic kata called Taikyoku Shodan 太極初段

Kihon Kata 太極初段 - Taikiayu Shodan
1. Heian Shodan 平安初段 Peaceful Mind Level 1

2. Heian Nidan 平安二段 - Peaceful Mind Level 2

3. Heian Sandan 平安三段 - Peaceful Mind Level 3

4. Heian Yondan 平安四段 - Peaceful Mind Level 4

5. Heian Godan 平安五段Peaceful Mind Level 5

6. Tekki Shodan 鐵騎初段 - Iron Horse, 1

7. Bassai Dai 拔賽大 - To Storm a Fortress

8. Kanku Dai 觀空大 - Viewing the Sky
 9. Enpi 燕飛 - Flying Swallow

10. Jion 慈恩A name of a temple

11. Jiin 慈陰Temple Grounds
12. Jitte 十手 - Ten Hands
 13. Tekki Nidan 鐵騎二段 - Iron Horse, 2
 14. Kanku Sho 觀空 - Viewing the Sky, 2
 15. Hangetsu 半月Half Moon
16. Nijushiho 二十四Twenty-four Steps
17. Gankaku 岩鶴 - Crane on the Rock
18. Chinte 珍手 - Incredible Hands
19. Meikyo 明鏡Bright Mirror
20. Bassai Sho 拔賽小To Storm a Fortress, 2
 21. Tekki Sandan 鐵騎三段 - Iron Horse, 3
 22. Sochin 壯鎭 -   Rooted (Tranqui Force)
 23. Wankan 王冠 -  King's Crown
24. *Gojushiho Dai 五十四步54 Steps, one 
25. *Gojushiho Sho 五十四步小 54 Steps, two 
 26. Unsu 雲手Cloud Hands

Nijuhacjiho - H Kanazawa (SKIF)

Gankaku Sho - Crane on the Rock, 2

* Gojushiho - Dai sometimes is a - Sho (and vice versa) in other associations including JKSK.

© JKSK 2009 - 2016
JKSK " traditional karate, traditional values"
| 01462 730551 | 07742 820956 |  
Gradings    Belt System    Dojo Etiquette     History     Terminology     Stances     Strikes