Group Photo

Left to Right: Matt Sheffield, Mike Chilcote Ariel Wurm, Ezekiel Johnston-Halperin, Ian Froning, Justin Young, Howard Yu, Yue Hu, Yu-Sheng Ou, Kurtis Wickey, Megan Harberts

Principal Investigator

Post-doctoral Scholars

Shawna STM

Graduate Students




Asst. Prof. Ezekiel Johnston-Halperin

Dr. Johnston-Halperin, received his B.S. in physics from Case Western Reserve University in 1996, followed in 2003 by his Ph.D. in Physics at the University of California at Santa Barbara in the research group of Prof. David D. Awschalom. This work covered topics ranging from ultra-fast optical studies of spin dynamics in semiconductor materials to the synthesis of novel ferromagnetic semiconductor heterostructures via molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE). His postdoctoral studies at the California Institute of Technology in the research group of Prof. James R. Heath extended from 2003 to 2006 and covered a number of projects ranging from nanostructured materials and sublithographic patterning to integrating molecular and solid-state materials to form extremely dense electronic circuits.
PRB 2060 (614-247-4074)



Shawna Hollen

Kurtis Wickey

Howard Yu

Megan Harberts

Justin Young

Yu-Sheng Ou

Yu Lu

Matt Sheffield

Michael Chilcote

Ian Froning

Andrew Franson

Ethel Perez-Hoyos

Ariel Wurm

Yue Hu


Prof. Patrick Truitt, Department of Mathematical Sciences, Montclair State University, NJ


Dr. Sarah Parks, NIST Gaithersberg, MD

Dr. Lei Fang, Postdoc, Univ. of Maryland, College Park

Dr. Dongkyun Ko, Samsung, Korea

Dr. Yi-Hsin Chiu, Postdoc, Pennsylvania State University, State College


Ke LiĀ , Department of Medical Physics, University of Wisconsin

Turhan Carroll, Wright Patterson AFB, OH


David Somers, Kenyon College

James Mathis, Norfolk State University

Laura Nelson

Cole Robinette

Joshua Emerick

Isaac Khalaf, Applied Materials, CA

John Ciraldo, Department of Physics, University of California at Riverside

Bryce Smith

Scott Stowe

Spencer Bardsley

Kathryn Rock