About Us

Mission. The Johns Hopkins Postdoctoral Association (JHPDA) supports and enhances the postdoctoral experience at Johns Hopkins University on the East Baltimore and Bayview campuses. We seek to improve the daily life of postdoctoral fellows through building a sense of community in the academic and social realms. We also seek to address long-term issues related to career development, training, and policy. We advocate for fellows by bringing their interests and concerns to the attention of the administration in order to initiate constructive and mutually beneficial changes.

Membership. Membership currently includes all postdoctoral fellows in the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine (SOM), Bloomberg School of Public Health (SPH) and School of Nursing (SON). The JHPDA is run by an elected Executive Board and Committee Chairs (listed below), all of whom are volunteers.

Interested in getting involved? Read more here.

JHPDA Charter

JHPDA charter can be found here

Executive Board

Co-PresidentsStanley Andrisse, PhD sandris2@jhmi.edu
Justin La Favor, PhD jlafavo3@jhmi.edu
SecretaryChelsea Qinjie Zhou, PhD aven3459@gmail.com
TreasurerNick Wyhs, PhD nawyhs@gmail.com

Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs
More information about the specific committees can be found here. If you are interested in joining a specific committee, please do not hesitate to contact the committee chairs!

Media and Communications


Policy and Advocacy

Professional Development


Diversity Postdoc Alliance

School of Public Health

Pankhuri Vyas, PhD pankhuri.jhu@gmail.com
Premraj Rajkumar PhD prajkum1@jhmi.edu 

Anders Josefsson, PhD ajosefs1@jhmi.edu
Beth Zucconi, PhD bethzucconi@yahoo.com

Rachel Mulheren PhD rmulher1@jhmi.edu

Jineta Banerjee, PhD Jbanerj1@jhmi.edu
Xiang Xu, PhD xiangxu@jhu.edu

Justin La Favor, PhD jlafavo3@jhmi.edu

Dionna Williams, PhD DWill201@jhmi.edu
Stanley Andrisse, PhD sandris2@jhmi.edu

Julia Raifman PhD jraifman@jhu.edu
Alfredo Guerra Phaguerra2@jhu.edu

Paul Aiyetan, MD, MS paiyeta1@jhu.edu

JHPDA History.
The JHPDA was formed in 1992 and has been officially recognized by the University since 1994 making us one of the oldest postdoctoral associations in the country.

The Guy with the Dome:
This little guy holding up the famed Hopkins Dome used to represent JHPDA on all JHPDA promotional material until we changed our logo in 2011. After that point, we kept him as our mascot. 

Previous Officers

2014-2015 Executive Board
Co-Presidents: Corinne Pettigrew, Casey Rebholz, and Stephen Gee
Secretary: Pankhuri Vyas
Treasurer: Jeff Norris & Blythe Shepard

2013-2014 Executive Board

Co-Presidents: Nick Puts & Blythe Shepard
Secretary: Regan Memmott
Treasurer: Cara Altimus

2012-2013 Executive Board
Co-Presidents: Cara Altimus & Nate Brennan
Secretary: Verity Oliver
Treasurer: Blythe Shepard

2011-2012 Executive Board
Co-Presidents: Kalyan Kondapalli, Mari Kondo, & Sri Sharma
Vice Presidents: Mari Kondo & Maria Sevdali
Secretary: Parastoo Jangouk & Sandya Venugopal
Treasurer: Sam Das & Blythe Shepard