Vera Brittain - Loved & Lost

Tells the story of Vera Brittain and her experiences during the Great War, 1914-18. 

Particularly her developing relationships with her brother Edward, her fiancée Roland Leighton, Victor Richardson and Geoffrey Thurlow - all of whom were die during that conflict.

Her story is interwoven with poetry; Vera's, Roland's and others.
  • 'The Sisters Buried At Lemnos' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Pehaps' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Vitai Lampada' by Sir Henry Newbolt
  • 'III. The Dead' by Rupert Brooke
  • 'The Lament of the Demobilised' by Vera Brittain
  • 'In The Rose Garden' by Roland Leighton
  • 'The War Generation' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Nackhlang' by Roland Leighton
  • 'St Pancras Station; August 1915' by Vera Brittain
  • 'The Dirge of Dead Sisters' by Rudyard Kipling
  • 'Violets From Plug Street Wood' by Roland Leighton
  • 'Looking Westward' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Hedauville' by Roland Leighton
  • 'To My Brother' by Vera Brittain
  • In Memoriam, GRYT' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Sic Transit' by Vera Brittain
  • 'The German Ward' by Vera Brittain
  • 'That Which Remaineth' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Oxford Revisited' by Vera Brittain
  • 'Epitaph For Edward' by Vera Brittain
  • "Just to let you know how much I enjoyed the event last Friday, as did the rest of my group. Your speaker's expert knowledge and wonderful voice literally brought tears to our eyes" - Lunch/Lecture at Bateman's, National Trust, Friday 27th November 2015.

    Click to hear the poem being read.
    It runs for 45 minutes, but can be extended to an hour if required.
    If you wish, you may book this talk/performance, or if you have any queries then please contact me.