About Me

Present position

I am a Senior Scientist at the global pharmaceutical company, AbbVie.  I am working within the Pharmacogenetics and Pharmacogenomics division where I apply my academic training in bioinformatics, statistics, and genetics to understanding the genetic basis of inter-individual variation in drug response across a wide range of therapeutic areas.

Previous education and work

I grew up on Chicago's northwest side and developed an early interest in biological research working in the Department of Zoology at the Field Museum of Natural History.  I majored in biology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and worked for three years in Dr. David Philipp's conservation genetics lab.  In 2004, I moved to Orlando Florida for a position as a technician in Dr. Chris Parkinson's lab where I studied conservation genetics of Beach Mice on the Atlantic Coast of Florida.   I got master's degree under Dr. Eric Hoffman at the University of Central Florida where my thesis research used DNA variation to study the evolution of the Ornate Chorus Frog

I finished my Ph.D. in 2012 in the Committee on Genetics, Genomics, and Systems Biology at the University of Chicago under Dr. Jonathan Pritchard. My Ph.D. research focused on identifying regulatory regions in the human genome and on understanding the molecular mechanisms that link DNA-level variation to heritable variation in gene expression.  I spent 2 years as a postdoc as a postdoc in Eileen Furlong's group at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory in Heidelberg, Germany and returned to Chicago for one more year to finish research as a postdoc in Matthew Stephens's lab.  My postdoctoral work used Drosophila melanogaster and aimed to better our understanding of how pluripotent embryonic cells become specified into distinct cell types and to illuminate the mechanisms through which natural DNA variation leads to subtle differences between individuals in this developmental progression.


My parents have now retired and run a vacation house in South-Central Wisconsin.  My older sister Sarah teaches Spanish at Valparaiso University.  My older brother Luke makes and restores violins at his shop in Wisconsin.   My younger sister is a physician's assistant.  My wife Hannah is an expert in child psychology and development and switches between applying this expertise for the public good as a child social worker and researcher and applying it at home with our own children.  My son Henry was born on Halloween, 2012 and is my greatest source of joy.