Museum Staff

Lisa Huntsha, Part-time Curator

The Jenny Lind Chapel has hired Lisa Huntsha to serve as part-time curator of the museum collections as of October, 2015. Huntsha comes to the museum with a master's degree in Museum Studies from Syracuse University and experience working with Swedish-American collections. She is currently the Archivist/Librarian of the Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center at Augustana College. Huntsha works to preserve and display the collections, develop plans for the museum, and interpret the stories told by the museum.


The Chapel is owned and managed by the Northern Illinois Synod of the ELCA. The Synod elects the Jenny Lind Chapel Operating Committee which is responsible for

        1.  Maintenance of the building and cemetery
        2.  Arrangement for worship services
        3.  Management of the funds

The members of this committee include the following. The year in parentheses is the final year of that term and ends on Dec. 31 of that year. There are no term limits.


John Leaf (2024),
Ron Peterson (2024),
Randall Swanson (2023),
Carol Brockhouse (2023), Secretary,
John Norton (at large),
Gordon Rehn, Treasurer,
David Renneke, Webmaster,
Michel Clark, Assistant to the Bishop,

The Synod also elects the Jenny Lind Chapel Endowment Trust Committee which manages the endowment funds. The members of this committee include the following. Members are elected to 5-year terms. The year in parentheses is the final year of that term. There are no term limits.


Greg Johnson (2021), Treasurer,
Carol Brockhouse (2022),
John Peterson (2023),
Gordon Rehn (2024),
Randy Mullin (2025),