Itihasa Bharati

Ancient Vedic river Sarasvati in Gujarat

Bauddham pilgrimage

Nataraja. Bronze. Chola. India Museum, New Delhi

What is Itihasa?

Dharmarthakamamoksanam upades'a samanvitam, purvavrtta kathayuktam itihasam pracakshate, 

[Source: Mahabharata, Chitrasala Press Edn.; the s'loka is cited in V.S. Apte's The Practical Sanskrit-English Dictionary, Revised and enlarged edn., Prasad Prakasan, Puna, 1957, and also occurs in Visnu-dharma, 3/15/1.]

Trans. Itihasa is narration of happenings of the past combined with guidance (for future action) to protect dharma, artha, kaama, moksha (purushartha or goals of life).

The narration is multi-dimensional as in the two models of Itihasa in Hindu civilization tradition: Ramayana and Mahabharata -- in chronological sequence; the dating is based on astronomical data providing for astonishing accuracy in the accounting for facts of the past.

Six vedanga of Vedapurusha are: 
1) Shiksha 2) Vyakaranam 3) Chandas 4) Niruktam  5) Jyotisham  6) Kalpam. Vedic chanting

In the Hindu civilization tradition of narration (kathanam), this portal will update the itihasa beyond the epic periods covered by: Ramayana and Mahabharata which are the sheet-anchors of ancient Itihasa Bharati.

Some cities mentioned in the two epics are shown on this map.