ALI, the Association for Logic in India, announces Part II of the sixth edition of its biennial Indian School on Logic and its Applications (ISLA), to be held at the seminar hall of the Department of Philosophy, Jadavpur University, Kolkata from August 22 to August 27, 2016. The school is organized by the Association for Logic in India (ALI) in collaboration with Calcutta Logic Circle, Department of Production Engineering, Jadavpur University, School of Cognitive Science, Jadavpur University and Sivatosh Mookerjee Science Centre, Kolkata. The school is dedicated to the memory of Late Professor Bimal Krishna Matilal, Spalding Professor, All Souls College, Oxford.

Part I of the sixth edition of the School was held at PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore (March 2016), and the previous editions of the school were held at Tezpur University (January, 2014), Manipal University (January, 2012), University of Hyderabad (January, 2010), IIT Kanpur (January, 2008) and IIT Bombay (January, 2006). The objective is to present before graduate students and researchers, some basics as well as active research areas in logic, modern as well as Indian. The School typically attracts students, researchers and teachers from mathematics, philosophy and computer science departments. The School is complemented by a biennial conference held in alternate years. The sixth conference was held in IIT Bombay, in January 2015. Visit the ALI page for more information about ALI and links to past events.

The theme of the present school of this year is philosophical and algebraic logic, and we have some of the best researchers from India and abroad lecturing on both basic and advanced topics.

Organising Committee:

Mihir Cakraborty, University of Calcutta
Lopamudra Choudhury, Jadavpur University
Bijan Sarkar, Jadavpur University
Manidipa Sanyal, University of Calcutta
Jayanta Sen ( Convenor), Taki Government College
Pulak Samanta, Katwa College
Sourav Tarafder, St. Xavier's College, Kolkata
Purbita Jana, University of Calcutta
Anirban Saha, The Heritage College, Kolkata
Bornali Paul, Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata
Safiqul Islam, Taki Government College
Masiur Rahman, City College, Kolkata
Debirupa Basu, Shri Shikshayatan College
Reetu Bhattacharya, Jadavpur University


Mihir K. Chakraborty:

Jayanta Sen: