IHSBA Criteria

To be eligible for the Iowa High School Book Award, books must (be):

  • Published within the last three years
  • Fiction or Nonfiction
  • Represent a wide range of subjects and reading levels
  • Represent different genres to as great an extent as is practical
  • Appeal to readers of both genders and to the range of readers in grades 9-12.  Books published as YA or Adult will be considered
  • One selection per year, per author
  • To avoid series monopoly, only the first book in a series will be considered (i.e. The Twilight Saga by Meyer, only "Twilight" was included)
  • Effort will be made to include an Iowa author when feasible

The following are NOT considered for inclusion on the list:
  • Books without a positive review from at least one major reviewing periodical
  • Novelizations of movies or TV programs
  • Printz Winners (although Honor books are eligible)
  • Books which have appeared on previous Iowa High School Book Award lists