Message from the Chair

Welcome to the website of the Transportation Research Board’s Passenger Intermodal Facilities Committee – AP045. As of April 15, 2017, we have changed our name to Passenger Intermodal Facilities Committee – AP045.  We believe our new name better describes our mission than the former name, "Intermodal Transfer Facilities;" which people sometimes incorrectly assumed was  freight oriented rather than passenger transportation.

We believe that a well-functioning connecting hub is critical to the effectiveness of transit, rail, and the entire transit and transportation system. We also believe that achieving that mission requires wide-ranging talents and efforts, from planning and design through operations.  As a result, we are a cross-cutting, multi-disciplinary, multi-modal and multi-sector committee. Our diverse membership and research focus covers a wide range of subject areas in the public transportation arena, with station facilities and their intermodal connections as the primary focus.  We encourage exploration of multiple facets of interest.  Specific topics of interest have included optimal location of intermodal facilities, station layouts, intermodal connections (including airports as well as land modes), safety and security, passenger flows, signage and wayfinding, financial and economic aspects of station operations, and practical examples of effective planning and design. 

The committee also has an active Art and Design Excellence in Transportation subcommittee.

We meet every year at the annual conference and convene a mid-year conference call. Our committee is very interested in research in our areas of interest and encourages the submission of papers and research topics related to intermodal and multimodal facilities.  Our TRB 2017 CALL FOR PAPERS covers station and hub resilience, healthy mobility, and and revenue generation and reinvestment.

This website is established to facilitate communications throughout the year and to provide information related to our committee.  I am honored to be the newly appointed chair of this committee and thank you for your interest and participation.

Deborah Matherly