The Inquisitive Turn
Closing event

The aim of the Inquisitive Turn project (2010-2015) has been to develop a new perspective on meaning in semantics, logic, and pragmatics, which places informative and inquisitive content on equal footing.

The project has been carried out by Ivano Ciardelli, Jeroen Groenendijk, Floris Roelofsen, and Matthijs Westera at the Institute for Logic, Language and Computation (ILLC) in Amsterdam, and has been funded by the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO).

The closing event of the project will consist of two workshopsThe event will be directly followed by the Amsterdam Colloquium (December 16-18).

In 2016 there will be a number of vacancies for PhD students and Postdocs in the inquisitive semantics group in Amsterdam
. More information about the projects can be found here.

Workshop 1: Questions in pragmatics

Date: Monday 14th of December, 2015
Organizer: Matthijs Westera
Venue: Amsterdam Business School (map), room 0.02
Address: Plantage Muidergracht 12

Daniel Buring (Vienna) (slides)
David Beaver (Austin) (slides)
Liz Coppock (Gothenburg/Uppsala) (slides)
Bart Geurts (Nijmegen) (slides)
Daniel Goodhue (McGill) (slides)
Andreas Haida (Jerusalem)
Edgar Onea (Göttingen) (slides)
Craige Roberts (Ohio) (slides)
Jennifer Spenader (Groningen) (slides)

For the programme and abstracts, click here.

Questions constitute a central topic in the fields of pragmatics and semantics -- as do closely related phenomena such as intonational meaning, information structure and exhaustivity implicatures. What do these phenomena teach us about pragmatics, for instance about its relation to semantics? And, conversely, what does a critical evaluation of the foundations of pragmatics teach us about these phenomena?

Workshop 2: Questions in logic and semantics

Date: Tuesday 15th of December, 2015
Organizer: Ivano Ciardelli
Venue: Amsterdam Business School (map), room 1.03
Address: Plantage Muidergracht 12

Maria Aloni (Amsterdam) (slides)
Lucas Champollion (New York) (slides)
Hans van Ditmarsch (Nancy) (slides)
Hannes Leitgeb (Munich) (slides)
Vit Puncochar (Prague) (slides)
Nadine Theiler (Amsterdam) (slides)
Wataru Uegaki (Paris/Tokyo) (slides)
Yanjing Wang (Beijing) (slides)
Yimei Xiang (Harvard) (slides)
Fan Yang (Delft) (slides)

For the programme and abstracts, click here.