Coaching Staff

Jared Grindstaff - Head Coach


Coach Jared Grindstaff will be entering 9th season with the Independence Eagles in 2014-2015.  During the previous 8 seasons at Independence Coach Grindstaff and his staff has produced 68 State Qualifiers, 22 Region-6 champions, 24 state medals, 7 state finalists, 2 NHSCA All-Americans and 5 State Champions!  Currently the team's dual meet record is 201-77 with 19 Individual Tournament titles, 6 TSSAA State Dual Appearances, Back-to-Back Region Titles (2008 and 2009) in both traditional and duals.  Over the past 8 seasons, Independence has finished 1st or 2nd in the regional 6 times.  Coach Grindstaff was voted the Region 6 Coach of the year and the Tennessean’s Mid-Tennessee Coach of the year in 2008.


Coach Grindstaff started his wrestling career at the age of 5, growing up in Omaha, NE and continued his wrestling career at Cumberland University in Lebanon, Tennessee.  During his five year wrestling career at CU, he was a 2x national qualifier, 2x Academic All-American and 2x Team Captain.  In the 2005 season he was awarded the “Champion of Character Award” at the national tournament. He finished his Bachelors in Mathematics degree in 2004 and his Masters in Education in 2006. 


After finishing his wrestling career at Cumberland, Coach Grindstaff stay on board to become an assistant coach under Cumberland Head Coach Jarad Swint.  During the 2005-2006 season, Coach Grindstaff served an assistant coach and head of strength and conditioning.  After graduating with his MAE, he became the assistant wrestling coach at Hunters Lane High School.  While there he helped produce eight state qualifiers and one individual Runner-up at the TSSAA state tournament.  Hunters Lane finished the year 21st out of 142 teams(56th place in 2005-06 season).  The 2006-2007 season at Hunters Lane was their best in over a decade


Coach Grindstaff now resides in Spring Hill, with his lovely wife, Elizabeth, daughters Cora, Maydee, and their boxer (dog) Husker!

Independence Assistant Coaches
Thomas Berry
Frank Gearheart
Jason Grindstaff
Bill Godfrey
Neal Nutter
Orlando Pillow