Top Picks 2016 - Call for Papers

Special Issue of IEEE Micro

Micro's Top Picks from the Computer Architecture Conferences

May/June 2016

 Deadline: October 16th, 2015, 6:00 pm EDT

IEEE Micro will publish its yearly "Micro's Top Picks from the Computer Architecture Conferences" as its May/June 2016 issue. This issue collects some of this year's most significant research papers in computer architecture based on novelty and potential for long-term impact. Any computer architecture paper (not a combination of papers) published in the top conferences of 2015 (including MICRO-48) is eligible.  IEEE Micro also distinguishes a number of papers as IEEE Micro Top Pick Honorable Mentions.

The Top Picks committee will attempt to recognize those significant and insightful papers that have the potential to influence the work of computer architects for years to come. To simplify reviewing, there is a mandatory format for submissions. Please concatenate the following two documents into a single PDF file that is submitted:

  1. A three-page, two-column document using 10-point type. The first two pages should summarize the paper. The third page should argue for the potential of the work to have long-term impact, clearly articulating why and how it will influence other researchers and/or industry.
  2. The final version of the original conference paper.

Submissions that do not follow this format will not be reviewed. The first page of the submission should contain the names of the authors with a footnote that contains the title of the original conference paper, with the full name of the conference and date of publication. 

Upon acceptance, authors will receive further instructions on how to prepare final papers that conform to IEEE Micro’s guidelines (5000 words for the final paper in IEEE Micro).

Paper Submission Site:

Info Site:                  

Important Dates 

Submission Deadline:                                 October 16th, 2015 6:00 pm EDT
Author notification:                                      January 29th, 2016
Final papers due:                                        February 19th, 2016
Publication date:                                         May/June 2016


Top Picks Guest Editors (and Co-Chairs of the Selection Committee): 

Milo Martin, Google

Dan Sorin, Duke University

Program Committee

Tor                 Aamodt                      University of British Columbia
Sarita             Adve                          University of Illinois
Murali            Annavaram                University of Southern California
Rajeev           Balasubramonian      University of Utah
Ramon          Canal                         Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
Fred               Chong                       University of Chicago
Joe                Devietti                      University of Pennsylvania
Sandhya        Dwarkadas                Rochester University
Joel                Emer                         MIT, Nvidia
Erik                Hagersten                 Uppsala University
James            Hoe                           Carnegie Mellon University
Hillery             Hunter                      IBM Research
Martha            Kim                          Columbia University
Benjamin        Lee                           Duke University
Hsien-Hsin     Lee                           TSMC
Tong               Li                              Lenovo
Debbie           Marr                          Intel
Kathryn          McKinley                   Microsoft Research
Albert             Meixner                    Google
Trevor            Mudge                      University of Michigan
Satish            Narayanasamy         University of Michigan
Mark              Oskin                        University of Washington
Ravi               Rajwar                      Intel
Partha            Ranganathan           Google
Vijay Janapa  Reddi                       University of Texas - Austin
Daniel            Sanchez                   MIT
Karu               Sankaralingam        University of Wisconsin
Karin              Strauss                    Microsoft Research, University of Washington
Ed                  Suh                         Cornell University
Michael          Taylor                      University of California, San Diego
Tom                Wenisch                 University of Michigan
Greg               Wright                     Qualcomm
Pen-Chung     Yew                        University of Minnesota