Call for papers

Algorithms and Data Structures for selection, identification and encoding.
Group testing, compressed sensing, multi access communication and more.


The workshop aims at bringing together researchers to exchange ideas and results related to the theoretical and practical aspects of group testing, compressed sensing and combinatorial identification in a broad sense. Papers presenting use of group testing and selection primitives in pattern matching, data structures for static membership, communication protocols, cryptographic protocols, streaming computation, bioinformatics and computational biology, compressed sensing as well as papers focussing on theoretical aspects of combinatorial structures for identification and coding, like randomness extractors, superimposed codes, list-decodable codes, selectors, and the like are welcome. 

All the above topics are open to both research and industry contributions. Papers reporting on original research unpublished elsewhere are primarily sought. Surveys of important results, especially recent ones, are also invited.


Anna C. Gilbert 
Piotr Indyk 
Luca Trevisan


Authors should send an extended abstract of at most 15 pages via the online submission system.
Accepted papers are expected to be presented at the workshop. 



* Paper submission deadline extended to  May 20, 2011 
* Notification of acceptance: May 31, 2011
* Camera-ready copy: June 15, 2011


The conference proceedings will be distributed to the participants at the workshop.
In addition, a special Issue of Algorithmica dedicated to the workshop is planned. 


Ferdinando Cicalese, University of  Salerno, Italy
Ely Porat, Bar Ilan University, Israel 


Ferdinando Cicalese - University of Salerno, Italy (co-chair)
Charles J. Colbourn - Arizona State University, USA
Peter Damaschke - Chalmers University, Sweden
Avinatan Hassidim - Google inc.
Sampath Kannan - University of Pennsylvania, USA
Hung Q. Ngo - University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Ely Porat - Bar Ilan University, Israel (co-chair)
Atri Rudra - University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, USA
Miklós Ruszinkó - MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
Milan Ružić -  ITU, Denmark
Noam Shental - Open University of Israel, Israel
Martin J. Strauss - University of Michigan, USA
Ugo Vaccaro - University of Salerno, Italy


For any further information regarding the workshop, please contact the organizers:
Ferdinando Cicalese,
Ely Porat,



Department of Computer Science, University of Salerno, Italy
Department of Computer Science, Bar Ilan University, Israel