ICAAL meetings

The International Conference on Austroasiatic Linguistics is the principle regular meeting for presenting and discussing research on Austroasiatic languages/linguistics.

The 1st ICAAL was held at the University of Hawai‘i in Honolulu in 1973, and the proceedings published in 1976 in two volumes entitled Austroasiatic Studies, (Philip N. Jenner, Laurence C. Thompson and Stanley Starosta (eds.) Honolulu: Oceanic Linguistics).

A Second International Conference on Austroasiatic Linguistics (SICAL) was held at the Central Institute of Indian Languages in Mysore in 1978.

After a long pause of nearly 3 decades, the ICAAL 3 Pilot Meeting was held in Siam Reap (Cambodia) in 2006, and full ICAAL meetings resumed with the 3rd ICAAL 3 being held at Deccan College Post-Graduate & Research Institute in Pune (India) in 2007. Since then, ICAAL meetings have been help approximately every 2 years.

ICAAL meetings are managed by the ICAAL Continuity Group. The Continuity Group serve as volunteers and are subject to recall/election at each full ICAAL business meeting; current members are listed below:

Nicole Kruspe (nicolekruspe [AT] gmail.com)

Paul Sidwell (chair) (paulsidwell [AT] gmail.com)

Mathias Jenny (mj [AT] mathiasjenny.ch)

Hiram Ring (publications) (ring.hiram [AT] gmail.com)

John Peterson (jpeterson [AT] isfas.uni-kiel.de)

Tobias Weber (secretary) (tweber [AT] isfas.uni-kiel.de)

Gregory Anderson (livingtongues [AT] gmail.com)

Ryan Gehrmann (ryangehrmann [AT] gmail.com)

At the ICAAL9 meeting Ryan Gehrmann was elected to the group, and Hiram Ring replaced Felix Rau as Publications officer. Much appreciation is expressed for Felix's service.