Chapter News / About Us

Hou-Met, a local chapter of the Texas Educational  Diagnosticians' Association, promotes professionalism, excellence, and continuing growth for diagnosticians to provide individuals with disabilities quality educational services in the Houston-Metropolitan area.

The Hou-Met Chapter of the Texas Educational Diagnosticians' Association (TEDA) represents Educational Diagnosticians in the greater Houston-Metropolitan area. In addition to membership meetings each year, Hou-Met has provided an annual fall conference since 1975. Hou-Met has hosted the conference to expand the knowledge base and professionalism of Educational Diagnosticians. The chapter uses proceeds from the annual conference to fund scholarships for students with disabilities in post secondary education programs as well as individuals in Educational Diagnostician certification programs. In the spring/summer, the chapter hosts a general meeting where newly elected officers are presented to the membership. Hou-Met is committed to the educational and overall well-being of every child and continues to pursue excellence in the field of general and special education.

Membership is open to active and retired Educational Diagnosticians as well as students pursing this certification and those working in related fields. Membership in the Texas Educational Diagnosticians’ Association provides an option to select (local) Hou-Met chapter membership, at no additional cost. The membership year is from August 1 to July 31 annually. Please go to to access the membership application that must be submitted directly to TEDA for processing. Membership in TEDA and Hou-Met is required for chapter officers and nominees and brings many value added benefits, but is not required for participation in most Hou-Met activities and conferences. 

Chapter Bylaws

Current Hou-Met bylaws November 2014. 
Download bylaws here 

Hou-Met Board 2016-2017
Dr. Alena Wilson
President-Elect:  Lori Harris
Vice President:Kevin Melgaard
Treasurer: Brenda Keys, Aldine ISD
Secretary:Cynthia Edwards
Past President:        
Roz Fink
Committee Chairperson
Government Awareness:Lori Harris, Crosby ISD
Scholarships    Cynthia Edwards, Houston ISD
Fall ConferenceRoz Fink, Katy ISD
Website / Chapter OutreachDarcy Thompson, Independent Consultant
 Corinna Villar Cole, Ph.D. 
 Gail Cheramie, Ph.D. 

A special thank you to outgoing Past President Pippa Parisian for all of her service to the Hou-Met chapter.  Pippa continues to serve on the conference committee.