How To Prepare For Homeschooling

The Classical Method


Making The Decision

Find Out Your State's Requirements

Determine Your Child's Learning Style




Research Homeschooling Methods

The Charlotte Mason Method

The Classical Method

The Montessori Method

Religious Method

Traditional / Structured / School At Home Approach

Unit Studies / Integrated Studies / Thematic Unit


Online Distant and Community Learning

The Eclectic Method

Determine The Cost

Curriculum / Learning Materials

Sample Eclectic Curriculum

Shop for Curriculum Materials

Supplies / Equipment / Furniture

Other Resources

Set Up & Organize

The classical method focuses on three stages of human brain development: grammar, logic and rhetoric (called the "trivium")

Stage 1: Grammar - From birth to age 12, the child is taught to read, write and listen.  The basic concepts of science are introduced, but only facts are given to memorize and not theoretical concepts because the child is still unable to reason.

Stage 2: Logic - From age 12 to 14, reasoning is introduced and critical thinking is encouraged.  The child learns to be analytical, comprehend abstract concepts and ask "why?"

Stage 3: Rhetoric - At high school age, the child learns to combine their critical mindset with traditional study methods.  They should be able to form complex arguments from learned information and test new theories.

The classical method includes formal instruction in logic, Greek, Latin and Western Literature.  Students learn by doing drill work, memorization and public speaking.  The goal of this method is to train leaders for the future and teach them to think for themselves.

Next: The Montessori Method

Back To: Research Homeschooling Methods