About Us

Mimico Tennis Club: 
Home of Toronto's Red Clay Courts 

The Mimico Tennis Club is a friendly west-end club that has been located in a charming residential neighbourhood near Lake Ontario since 1937. 
We are famous for our well-maintained, three red clay courts and relaxed atmosphere.
Mimico is an affordable, members-only club owned by the City of Toronto but run by an entirely volunteer executive committee and other volunteers from the club's membership. We can always use more help. 
Our season is from early May to the end of October. 
Club hours are from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m.
 
The City of Toronto published the results of their 2015 community consultation and survey. New policy documents are  available at the bottom of the page.

Our Courts

The rare and distinctive North American red clay comes from a quarry in Vermont. 
The courts require daily watering and brushing as well as weekly rolling. 
The club's courts are watered weekdays at 12:30 p.m., 4:30 p.m. and 11 p.m. The operate for about 20 minutes and the courts require another 20 minutes to properly dry.
This year the courts will be rolled on Wednesday's, from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.




Club Improvements
In 2005 the courts were completely reconstructed (excavated, graded and resurfaced), which was made possible by a grant received from The Ontario Trillium Foundation – the grant application process was lead by member, Joan Reid. At the same time a new automatic sprinkler system to water the courts was added – the proposal was lead by President, Jennifer Conron, and paid using funds from the club’s capital reserve. In 2002 the new clubhouse was officially opened after the original clubhouse was torn down due to structural concerns. The club and the City shared the cost of constructing the new clubhouse.

The archaic if charming suspension lights were taken down in the fall of 2013 and new state-of-the-art lighting standards erected in the winter and spring of 2014. Many people are responsible for this major improvement to the playing experience at our club, but specific credit must be given to President, Michael Parsonage, and Vice President. Margot Wheeler.

Our Logo
Our whimsical logo of a pigeon on a tennis ball probably needs an explanation. The club's logo for years was the old Town of Mimico logo of a pigeon perched on a shield that features a frontier homestead and a lake. They are framed by two laurels with a ribbon at the bottom that reads "The Town of Mimico." Mimico was an independent village from 1911 to 1967.

So what's with the pigeon? It's an unlikely choice for a symbol. Mimico originates from the Mississauga word Omimeca, or Omimico, or Macaco -- it's hard to find a reliable source -- which means a place where the wild pigeons gather, or a resting place for wild pigeons. The pigeons in question were passenger pigeons, once thought to have been the most populous bird species in the world. They are now extinct. The last one, named Martha, died at the Cincinnati Zoo in 1914. Massive flocks of passenger pigeons could be found at the mouth of the Mimico Creek where they rested before flying across Lake Ontario. 


In 2012, Toronto artist Dean Tweed was commissioned to create a new logo for the Mimico Tennis Club. He took the old Town of Mimico logo and a simple Mimico Tennis Club word-only logo used on the website and added the requisite tennis imagery. It's a handsome bird, don't you think? 
Ċ
Mimico Tennis,
Mar 8, 2016, 12:16 PM
Ċ
Mimico Tennis,
Mar 8, 2016, 12:16 PM
Comments