Judith Lyford Woman's Club

The Judith Lyford Woman's Club was founded in March of 1912.  In a History of the Judith Lyford Woman's Club, written in part by historian Emma Goodale, on May 25, 1918, "several of the ladies of this town had been agitating the advisability of forming a woman's club."

On March 6, 1912, twelve ladies met at Mrs. Gertrude Wells' home to start a woman's club. They named the club for the "heroine," of the Cabot pioneer bear story, Judith Lyford. Gertrude Wells was elected president; May Burbank, vice president; Emma Goodale, treasurer; and Carlie Smith, secretary.  Executive Committee: Alice Boyles, Gertrude Osgood, Nellie Williams; Entertainment Committee: Jennie Rogers, Jessie Drew, Clover Lewis. These ten ladies, and Shirley Walbridge, "signed the constitution and bylaws, thus becoming charter members."

Club Members, June 1940-May 1941

   Bartlett, Mrs. Grace                             Hawes, Mrs. Ruth                                    Rogers, Mrs. Mary P.
   Bartlett, Mrs. Mable                            Holland, Mrs. Ola                                     Rogers, Mrs. May T.
   Barr, Mrs. Ida                                        Hopkins, Mrs. Goldie                              Rogers, Mrs. Lillian
   Burbank, Mrs. May                             Keenan, Mrs. Kay                                     Simpson, Mrs. Marcia
   Bellville, Mrs. Marion                         Laird, Mrs. Sadie                                       Smith, Mrs. Bessie 
   Conant, Miss Emma                           Lyford, Mrs. Nellie                                    Smith, Mrs. Clara
   Coyle, Mrs. Marjorie                           Martin, Mrs. Mina                                    Smith, Mrs. Kate
   Chester, Mrs. Catherine                    McNaughton, Mrs. Florence                 Smith, Mrs. Lottie
   Dane, Mrs. Mildred                             McAllister, Mrs. Anna                              Stevens, Mrs. Florence
   Domey, Miss Lois                                Nelson, Mrs. Nettie                                   Stacey, Mrs. Clarissa
   Farr, Mrs. Jennie                                 Orne, Mrs. Abbie                                        Tebbetts, Mrs. Marjorie
   Foster, Mrs. Maude                             Peck, Mrs. Florence                                  Wells, Mrs. Gertrude
   Gould, Mrs. Kate                                  Perry, Mrs. Eva                                           Williams, Mrs. Nettie
   Gould, Mrs. Margaret   
                      Pike, Mrs. Harriet                                      Williams, Miss Nellie  
   Gardner, Mrs. Ella                               Rogers, Mrs. Daisie                                    White, Mrs. Susie

   Haines, Mrs. Della                               Rogers, Mrs. Jennie                    
   Harvey, Mrs. Doris                             
Rogers, Mrs. Mary C.    
Honorary Members:

    Bruce, Mrs. Jennie                               Osgood, Mrs. Gertrude                             Tebbetts, Mrs. Mable
    Drew, Mrs. Jessie                                  Smith, Mrs. Carlie                                      Walbridge, Maude