Beverly Bewley Award Rules

In memory of Mrs. Beverly Ann Bewley, Inspector from the Arkansas State Plant Board, this award is established as a scholarship for new members to attend the HIS/SC Annual Training Meeting.

Beverly was a founding and devoted member of the Horticultural Inspection Society/Southern Chapter serving as Secretary from the time of the Chapter’s founding. Beverly strived to grow the Chapter and promote HIS/SC to new members. Her enthusiasm and southern hospitality were a breath of fresh air to new and potential members.

This award shall be limited to first time “Regular Members” (Regular Members who have never attended an Annual HIS/SC Meeting), who are unable to acquire funding from their state to attend the HIS/SC Annual Training Meeting. The Horticultural Inspection Society defines “Regular Members” as state employees engaged in plant pest inspection work as inspectors or supervisors, in the field, laboratory or office, other than administrative personnel.

The amount of the Beverly Bewley Award shall be determined by the Chapter’s available funds and procured through the Chapter’s general funds. The total award will not exceed $500.00. The scholarship shall be used for the expenses of hotel accommodations, transportation and meals for the Annual Meeting of the Chapter. The registration fee for the Annual Meeting of the Chapter shall be waived for the award recipient. Any expenses other than those stated above shall be the responsibility of the recipient. The winner shall be notified by the Chapter President. If the recipient declines, the alternate will be selected. The funds will be presented during the Annual Meeting of the Chapter.

Nominations from the HIS/SC for the Beverly Bewley Award shall be postmarked no later than August 1. The awards committee will then review the nominations and select two finalists to be presented to the Executive Committee of the Chapter. The Executive Committee will then make the final selection.

Beverly Bewley Award Nomination Form

(this form is via Google Forms)

Consider nominating someone for the Distinguished Achievement Award and the Tavo Good Spirit Award!