Home‎ > ‎Hindi Language‎ > ‎

Hindi Alphabets

Source : http://www.anu.edu.au/asianstudies/hindi/swah1002/homework/alphabet.html

Hindi is written using devanaagarii (or naagarii) script. It is also used for writing other important languages of South Asia like Sanskrit, Urdu (in India), Nepali, Marathi, Santhali, Maithili, Bhojpuri etc with some modifications. This script has its origin in Brahmi script of 8th century BC. devanagri is syllabic in nature i.e each character carries a consonant plus a neutral vowel  ‘a’ immediately after it. It is written from left to right. Traditionally there are 11 vowels and 35 consonants (with another 5 consonants of foreign origin making it 40) in Hindi alphabet (called varNmaalaa).

Some important points to remember:

1.       Each vowel has two forms – one vowel character (syllabic form) and a vowel sign (intra-syallbic form). The vowel signs (intra-syallbic forms) are called maatraa in Hindi.

2.       The superscript sign known as chandrabindu is used above a vowel to denote that the vowel is nasalized i.e. spoken through nose.

3.    The superscriptdot sign known as anusvaar is used over a consonant or a vowel to denote one of these consonants (Ga), (Ja), (Na), (na) and (ma).

A good web resource to learn Devanagari Script is at

Click below to download the alphabet charts and start reading and practicing right now.

Subpages (1): Hindi Numerals
Abhishek Avtans,
9 Dec 2008, 23:49