Democracy‎ > ‎

Regional Assembly

Regional Assembly - The Regional Legislature

The Regional Assembly forms the Island's Regional legislature where laws and regulations that impact respective regions are made or abolished. It is estimated that there will be approximately 18 Regional Assemblies (Each region will include 11 Community Councils and will represent 1.1 million people).

A Regional Assembly consists of 11 appointed representatives from Community Councils (i.e. the Community Counsel for the Regional Assembly) of the given region and one appointed Governor by the Supreme Council. All representatives of the Regional Assembly are legally accountable to the Independent Council against Corruption and Due Process (ICCDP).

  1. Regional Counsel for Strategic regional development

  2. Regional Counsel for Infrastructure and Technology

  3. Regional Counsel for Trade and Employment

  4. Regional Counsel for The Treasury (The Treasurer)

  5. Regional Counsel for Health and Wellbeing (The Governor)

  6. Regional Counsel for Education and Empowerment

  7. Regional Counsel for the Environment and Natural resources

  8. Regional Counsel for Agriculture and Industry

  9. Regional Counsel for Cultural affairs and the Arts

  10. Regional Counsel for External relations (I.e. Regional promotion)

  11. Regional Counsel for Regional Security and Law enforcement

  12. Regional Counsel for Civil liberties, Human rights and Social inclusion


The Chair of the Regional Assembly is rotated equally between the Governor and the Treasurer. The role of the Chair is to facilitate Regional Assembly meetings according to the constitution and to uphold the sacred Hela values of Humanity, Wisdom and Self-sufficiency.

The Regional Assembly meetings take place every 2nd week of the month (Monday through to Friday). There are at least ten meetings a year, each 5 days in durationAll 12 counsellors (or their representatives as per constitution) must be present for the Regional Assembly to conveneMatters before the Regional Assembly shall only be passed or rejected on a majority conscience vote. The Governor however, has no voting rights at the Regional Assembly. This is to preserve the independence of the Regional Assembly. Governors are people of good standing within the region and are appointed to the Regional Assembly by the Supreme Council.

Prime Directives of the Regional Assembly
  • Uphold the sacred Hela values of Humanity, Wisdom and Self-sufficiency

  • Promote a sense of regional identity

  • Promote the uniqueness of the region to attract investment

  • Enact laws and regulations that apply to the region

  • Ensure the 30% revenue collected by the Community Councils for the region are used for hospitals, schools, universities etc. as well as regional investment promotions.