Conforming loan limits for Hawaii - 2019

Home with a sold sign
Here are the conforming loan limits for the Hawaii counties. Conforming loans are mortgages that "conform" to the lending guidelines and loan limits of the Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) and the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac). Conforming loans are also called conventional mortgages. Read more about conventional/conforming loans at

The conventional/conforming loans are not backed by the Federal government like the FHA, VA and USDA mortgages. Loan amounts that exceed the county lending limits are called "jumbo" mortgages.

"What is the minimum down payment with conforming/conventional mortgages"?

The minimum down payment is 5% with the Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac mortgages, however, Fannie Mae offers two mortgages that only require a 3% down payment.

Conventional 97
There are no income limits with the Conventional 97, but the applicant must be a first time home buyer. The home must be a single-family attached or detached dwelling, a townhome, condominium, co-op, or row-home. No duplexes, triplexes or four four-unit buildings are permitted. Private mortgage insurance (PMI) is required for down payments less than 20%. Learn more at Learn more about the Conventional 97 program

The HomeReady™ program (formerly known as MyCommunity) for low to moderate income home buyers. The program is very similar to the Conventional 97 loan, however, the HomeReady™ loan has income limits. The borrower's income must not exceed either 100% of area median income (AMI) or the home must be located in a moderate income census tracts. The interest rate and mortgage insurance is lower than other conventional home loans. Learn more about the HomeReady™ program

Conforming/conventional loan limits for Hawaii Counties
One-Unit is a single family home or condominium
Two-Unit is two separate living units (duplex)
Three-Unit three separate living units (triplex)
Four-Unit four separate living units (fourplex)
County Name One-Unit Limit Two-Unit Limit Three-Unit Limit Four-Unit Limit
HAWAII 726,525 930,300 1,124,475 1,397,400
HONOLULU 726,525 930,300 1,124,475 1,397,400
KALAWAO 726,525 930,300 1,124,475 1,397,400
KAUAI 726,525 930,300 1,124,475 1,397,400
MAUI 726,525 930,300 1,124,475 1,397,400