Commands‎ > ‎


Removes files and directories from a backup:

  $ hb rm [-c backupdir] [-r version]
[--force] [pathname list]

The -r option used without any pathnames removes an entire version from the backup. Files saved in this version are removed only if they are superceeded in the next version.  The --force option removes all files from a version, whether they are superceeded or not.

Use pathnames to remove specific files.  If the -r option is used, files specified will only be removed from that version.  If the -r  option is not used, all copies of the files are removed.  Pathnames must be complete as shown in a listing of the backup, beginning with a slash.

For safety reasons, wildcards cannot be used with the rm command.  However, entire directories can be removed.  There is no extra confirmation when removing directories.
  Only the owner of a version (the userid recorded when the backup was created) can remove files from that version.

HashBackup tries to strike a good balance between bandwidth and storage efficiency.  When half of the data in an archive has been deleted, the archive is packed to recover the deleted space and then sent to any remote destinations.  This is controlled with the pack-percent-free and pack-remote-archives config options.