Vanilla - Halal or Haram?

VANILLA PRODUCTS
a. Vanilla Beans: Vanilla beans are identified as the properly cured and dried fruit-pods of the vanilla orchid in vanilla standard. Halal

b.Vanilla Extracts and Vanilla Powders: The reminder of the standard is involved with describing in general terms how the extract is made and what other ingredients can be used. It also defines other products related to pure vanilla extract (what constitutes them and how they can be labeled).


b. Vanilla extract (extracted with alcohol). Haram in Europe
c. Vanilla flavoring (extracted with alcohol)  Haram in Europe
d. Concentrated vanilla flavoring (extracted with alcohol)  Haram in Europe
e. Vanilla powder (no alcohol is used)  Halal
f. Vanilla-Vanillin extract (extracted with alcohol)  Haram in Europe
g. Vanilla-Vanillin flavoring (extracted with alcohol)  Haram in Europe
h. Vanilla-Vanillin powder (Vanillin may be obtained with or without alcohol) Halal if alcohol not used
i. Ethyl Vanillin: It is a synthetic product and considered halal.

There is no animal derived ingredients used in the products above.

VANILLA WITHOUT ALCOHOL

a. New Methods of Extractions: Modern methods of extraction are used such as supercritical carbon dioxide extraction (C02 Extract) and reverse osmosis for concentration. These methods produce useful products for industrial flavoring but they either fail to fit the regulatory requirements (alcohol extraction) for USFDA Standard products, and they are extremely expensive. These specialized products differ in solubility, flavor profile, and appearance but add to the list of natural vanilla flavoring available to food and beverages manufacturers. This product is halal.

b. Vanilla beans: Pure Vanilla beans are readily available for both food manufacturers for processed foods and common consumers for home bake products

c. Vanilla Flavor: A vanilla flavor may be in fact being non-alcoholic.

d. Vanilla Powder: This is a standard vanilla product. Vanilla powder is a mixture of ground vanilla beans or vanilla oleoresin or both with one or more of the following optional blending ingredients (a) Sugars, (b) dextrose, (c) Lactose, (d) Food Starch, (e) dried corn syrup, (f) Gum acacia. Vanilla sugar is different from vanilla powder with sugar. Vanilla Sugar made with sugar and vanilla extract is considered as Haram ingredient because of the alcohol content in the extract.

e. Vanilla-Vanillin Powder: This is the same, as vanilla powder but contains not more than one ounce of added vanillin. This is also a standard product. But this product is Halal only if added vanillin is obtained from vanilla bean without alcohol.

VANILLIN
Vanillin (4-hydroxy-3-methoxybenzaldehyde) a pleasant smelling aromatic compound occurs naturally in vanilla bean and also obtained from as by-product of pulp and paper industry by the oxidative break down of lignin. It may also be prepared by synthesis.

LIGNIN VANILLIN VANILLA BEAN VANILLIN
(vanilla bean flavor component)

C8H8O3 C8H8O3 
Molecular weight: 152.16 Molecular weight: 152.16

HALAL STATUS OF VANILLIN:
Artificial or synthetic vanillin do not contain alcohol and it is also Halal or Kosher certified. It is a Halal ingredient.

Artificial or synthetic vanillin is made with all Halal ingredients and Halal process without alcohol. Lignin, used to make the artificial vanillin, when derived from botanical product is Halal. Methane when used as a solvent is considered as a Halal solvent.
Comments