Towards Gravitational-Wave Astronomy of core-collapse SuperNovae (GWASNe)

January 29th(Monday) -31st(Wednesday), 2018
National Astronomical Observatory of Japan


The gravitational-wave (GW) astronomy has just started by the LIGO's Nobel-prize-awarded detection of the GW from the twin black holes.  Core-collapse supernovae (CCSNe), which result in the formation of black holes and neutron stars, are also one of the most important GW sources.  This workshop will gather together experts in both CCSN astrophysics and GW astronomy. The purpose of the workshop is to share status of GW predictions from state-of-the-art CCSN simulations,  and of GW detection and data analysis schemes for extracting the supernova physics by future GW detection.  This workshop is intended to further collaboration between the two participating communities toward the forthcoming "four-detector" era of LIGO(H/L), Virgo, and KAGRA.

Topics to Discuss:

  • Gravitational-wave (GW) signatures from core-collapse supernovae (CCSNe)
  • Detection technique of GWs from CCSNe
  • Dedicated data analysis techniques to extract the physics of CCSNe from the GW signals
  • Strategy for international collaboration
  • Multi-messenger astronomy of CCSNe

Important Dates:

  • Nov. 12th 2017: Registration open
  • Dec. 10th 2017: Close the presentation submission
  • Dec. 10th 2017: Close the proposal for travel support
  • Jan. 24th 2018:  Close the registration
  • Jan. 29th 2018: Workshop starts
  • Jan. 30th 2018: Banquet
  • Jan. 31st 2018: Workshop closes

Invited Speakers:

  • Francesco Salemi (Max Planck Institute for gravitational physics (Albert Einstein Institute) )
  • Haakon Andresen (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics)
  • Hajime Kawahara (University of Tokyo)
  • Hajime Sotani (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
  • Hirotaka Takahashi (Nagaoka University of Technology)
  • Mareki Honma (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
  • Michele Zanolin (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)
  • Pablo Cerdá-Durán (University of Valencia)
  • Soma Mukherjee (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley)
  • Soumya Mohanty (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley)
  • Takami Kuroda (Technical University of Darmstadt)
  • Yoichi Aso (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)


  • Kei Kotake (Fukuoka University)
  • Nobuyuki Kanda (Osaka City University)
  • Kazuhiro Hayama (Institute for Cosmic Ray Research)
  • Tomoya Takiwaki (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
  • Ko Nakamura (Fukuoka University)
  • Shota Shibataki (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)


This workshop is supported by grants as follows.