About‎ > ‎

GWAMIT Leaders

The GWAMIT Executive Board is responsible for oversight of all GWAMIT activities and initiatives, including GWAMIT's two annual conferences, the Orientation Women's Welcome Lunch, the GWAMIT Mentorship Program, and our Advocacy Committee.

Core Operations.

Executive Board

 Executive Co-Chairs: Alex Toumar & Nora Xu

 Secretary: Annie Marinan

 Membership Co-Chairs: Paula Ruiz-Castillo and Wenda Tian

 Events Chair: Kelly Brock

 Finance Chair: Sarah Spencer

General Board
Becky Asher
Cecilia Viggiano

Leadership Conference '14
Emily Mackevicius
Mallory Sheth

Empowerment Conference '14
Aiko Nakano
Sila Sayan


Women's Welcome
Leyla Isik, Mitali Thakor, Jean Yang

Jane Hung
Cindy Wang

We have a list of our former GWAMIT board members and past planning committees on our past leaders.

Departmental Representatives

Department representatives serve as a liaison between GWAMIT and members in their home department.

Department Representative Grant Program
Semesterly funding is available for active Department Representatives to hold an event for GWAMIT members in their home departments. Please contact gwamit-exec [at] mit [dot] edu for more information.

Below we list our departmental representatives and their associated departmental women's groups.  Get in touch with us at gwamit-exec [at] mit [dot] edu to get the contact information for a specific departmental representative. (Not all departmental representatives are listed.)

# Course/Program Grad. Women's Group Departmental Rep.
1 Civil Eng.
Brittany Huhmann, Jennifer Apell
2 Mech. Eng. MEGA Women Yi Huang, Yi Liu
3 Material Science WOMS
4 Architecture
5 Chemistry Women in Chemistry Vinita Lukose
6 Electrical Eng. & Comp. Sci. GW6 Sumaiya Nazeen, Elizabeth Kowalski
7 Biology
8 Physics MIT Graduate Women in Physics Jennifer Schloss
9 Brain and Cog. Sci.
Rebecca Canter
10Chemical Engineering
Kristen Severson
11 Urban Studies and Planning
Weixuan Li
15 Sloan SWIM Sisi Chen, Laura Diamond, Elizabeth Thys
16 Aero-Astro WGA3 Annie Marinan
17 Political Science
18 Math Women in Math
20 Bio. Eng.
Vibhuti Agrawal
22 Nuclear Sci./Eng. Grad. Women in Nuc. Sci./Eng. Miaomiao Jin

24Linguistics and Philosophy Sam Zukoff, Ruth Brillman
n/a Comparative Media Studies
n/a Computational & Systems Biology
n/a Operations Research Center
Mallory Michelle Bounds
n/a Computation for Design & Optimization

n/a ESD (Engineering Systems Division)
Lily Mwalenga, Nora Xu
n/a HST
Emily Lindemer
n/a STS (Science, Technology, Society)
n/a Women and Gender Studies

Subpages (25): View All