Restore Deleted Site

posted Apr 13, 2011, 6:44 PM by Brian Johnson


If an Owner of a Google Sites website deletes a site, the site can be recovered by visiting the site's URL within 30 days.  This applies only to sites deleted after the recovery feature was implemented (around April 13, 2011).  Here's how it works:

At the time the site is deleted, the Owner will be asked to confirm that they wish to delete the site:



If the Owner chooses the "Delete" option in the message above, the site will no longer be accessible to those attempting to visit the site.  However, if an Owner navigates to the URL for the deleted site, they will be prompted to "Restore Site" or "Delete Permanently" the site:


If the "Restore Site" option is selected, the site will be restored to the same state it was in at the time it was deleted. 

Selecting the "Delete Permanently" option will permanently delete the site, leaving no option to recover in the future.  This is a permanent option that cannot be reversed. 

For more information, see the official Google announcement concerning this feature.