Brevet des Grimpeurs du Sud


A Local Award for Local People

"the most wanted badge in the South"

The award is available to anybody who completes 5 rides of 100km or over eligible for AAA points starting in the counties of Essex, Herts, Bucks, Surrey, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, West Sussex, East Sussex, Kent and Greater London within the same calendar year (from 1st Jan to 31st Dec; not the AUK calendar year)

AUK membership is not required.

For the latest news and gossip please check Yet Another Cycllng Forum



Successful Grimpeurs du Sud so far are: 152 riders!

Gary Adams
Stephen Agnew
Doug Allen 
Rick Ansell
Tom Bailey
John Barnett 
Kevin Barton
Peter Bell (x2) O
Nicola Bennett B               
Paul Bennett     
Richard Berry
Leiv Boyum R3
Martin Brice
Christopher Breed
Dave Brothers O (x4) R2
Paul Britton (x3)
Anton Brown
Paul Brown
Ludwig Brunagel
Rob Bullyment    
Jonathan Burt  
Jack Camplin     
Daniele Cassisa (x2) O
Pat Cherry (x5)
Richard Chew
Jonathan Cooper
George Cordal               Michael Daly O                 Martin Davey        
Nick Davison
Roger Day
Andy Devlin                      Tony Dove
Adrian Downie
Bruce Dunbar (x3)
Miles Emery            
Geoff Ericson               
Lars Ericsson
Daniel Ersser
Marco Fabiani
Mark Fairweather (x2)
Kieran Fitzpatrick
Tom Forbes OR
Mark Fosbury
Kevin Gibson
Mark Gladwyn (x3)  
Martin Godwin
Hugh Grainger          
Adam Grassby         
David Gray
Nick Groundwater 
Ray Gunner
Jim Haffey  (X2)       
Will Hayward        
Michael Hilton        
Jeremy Hinks O       
David Howarth (x3) 
Stephen Hodges        
Jillian Holford          
Simon Holford         
Ed Holt                         
Tony Huntingdon(x3) 
Rob Hyde  
Dmitry Ilchenko
Oliver Iles 
Colin James (x2)
David Jesse
Justin Jones (x2) OF
Les Jones
Justin Keen
Helen Kellar                     Nic Ketley
Louise Lancaster (x2)
Richard Lavery
Mike Lee 
Pete Lockey O2  
Philip Longman                     Stephen Longman             James Ludlow OF           Martin Malins (x14) OR6
Brian Mann 
Ann Marshall (x9) OTR4
Kevin Martin
Alex Mason 
James Metcalfe                    Liam Morris             
Dave Morrison (x3) O2
Jeremy Nason (x5) 
Simon Neen (x4)O2R
Robert Norris (x2)
Tom Norris
Jonathan Nunney  (x2)       
Neil O'Brien
Felix Ormerod
Paul Outhwaite                   Brad Owen(x2)
Graham Parks
Gavin Peacock
Andrew Phillips
Richard Phipps OR (x5)
Mike Plumstead    
Steve Powell  (X2)   

Anthony Powis
Nigel Pratt
Peter Price   
Andrew Preater (x3)
Andrew Register (x4)     
Stacey Rich (x2)
Eric Richardson (x3) OR   
Alessandro Ricevuti   
Louise Rigby          
Stephen Riley   (x3)       
Dan Rough S
Cristina Ruiz-Perez       
Ian Ryall O
Moritz Schick (x2)         
Hilary Searle (x2) ORV2
Alistair Seaton                   Arup Sen                           Rocco Sepe
Andy Seviour
Nicola Sibbald
Adam Sharpe                  
Liam Simington
Mark Simmons (x2)
James Skillen ORF
Tim Sollesse
Mike Stoaling (x10) O     
Alan Stewart
Anthony Swain
Julian Sykes
Andy Taylor-Vebel (x6)    
Mark Tearle
Adrian Thomas
Richard Thomas   
Chris Tillapaugh           
Matthew Toms
Chris Tracey (x2)
Andrew Turner (x3) O2RS
David Vine (x2)          
Joss Wallace
Jonathan Walters(x2)       Simon Watkyns
Jane Watson      
Colin Weaver (x9) O
William Weir (x5) OS
Werner Wiethege(x5) ORF
Tom Willard
Adam Wilson O
Iain Wilson O
Andrew Woolway      
Oliver Wright ORF
O: Grimpeur d'Or. 10 eligible events ridden in the same year.
R: GdSRTY. 12 eligible events completed in consecutive months.
F: 5 eligible events ridden on fixed-wheel.
S: Super Randonneur (200, 300, 400, 600km) in eligible rides
V: Grimpeur du Vectis; 5 Isle of Wight eligible rides.
T: 5 eligible rides ridden on tandem
B : 5 rides completed on Bike Shaped Object (eg £79 Halfords bike)


Eligible events

         Calendar events:
2020 dates (to be confirmed where 2019 details shown)

Please note events cancelled due to Covid-19 in red

Permanent events

Please note all events suspended from January 5 2021 until further notice

 Shiny stuff:

  • A 25mm metal badge is available for successful riders (design above) for £3 inc. p/p (please Paypal to the email address listed below) or £2.50 direct at some events.
  • A free gold cloth badge of the same design is available to any rider who has completed 5 years of the award (10 events in one year count double).


  • Any event in the qualifying series (i.e. 100km or over; eligible for AAA points, starting within the specified counties) is valid.
  • The 5 rides must all be completed within the same calendar year (from 1st January to 31st December).
  • 2 or more eligible rides may be ridden in the same day and each will count; unless they are combined into a DIY or ECE ride in which case only one ride will count. 2 50k rides each eligible for AAA ridden in the region will count as a GdS if both ridden on the same day
  • Any eligible event which is extended to a longer distance either "for fun" or as an Extended Calendar Event is eligible.
  • Any Permanent, Extended Calendar Event or "DIY by GPS" ride anybody wishes to organise which qualifies will be valid; although proof of completing such a ride will need to be submitted separately to Martin Malins.
  • The "Isle of Wight Randonnée" is not an AUK ride but has been measured as having the required amount of climbing and distance and is therefore included as a discretionary qualifying ride only for the first time the Brevet is claimed by a rider, as it often encourages riders to participate in hilly AUK events which is the main purpose of the award
    (the Randonnée and "round the island" ride is subject to verification as a qualifying DIY by GPS following introduction of new AUK validation, please check before riding).
  • A list of all awarded riders and non-AUK members who have claimed the Brevet will be displayed as soon as riders have qualified.

Why not make the Brevet one of your goals and see the best of the region from the saddle?


Contact Martin Malins:

malinseastg(remove this)@tiscali dot co dot uk