About Ashtanga

Ashtanga Yoga

The Ashtanga system, which is in the Hatha yoga tradition, was passed down by Sri T. Krishnamacharya to his student, Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.  Sri K Pattabhi Jois taught yoga with his family in Mysore, India and around the world for over 70 years.  It is now practiced by thousands of people around the world.  

Traditionally in Ashtanga, there are three main sequences of postures:  Primary (Yoga Chikitsā), Intermediate (Nāḍī Śodhana), and Advanced Series (Sthira Bhāga).

Method of practice

Students practice a sequence of poses linked with Vinyasa (methods of getting in and out of each pose) using Ujjayi Pranayama (deep rhythmic breathing), Bandha (muscular and energetic locks), and Drishti (meditative gaze points).


When practiced correctly, Ashtanga yoga builds intense heat that helps in stretching and detoxifying the body.  Consistent yoga practice will yield the benefits of calmness, lightness and extra energy.


Shri T Krishnamacharya

Shri K Pattabhi Jois

Shri Manju Jois