I. Greece‎ > ‎

1.05 Pillars of Hercules

The “Pillars of Hercules”, also known as the Columnas Plus Ultra, was the name given to the mountains which flank the entrance to the Strait of Gibraltar, the gateway from the Mediterranean Sea to the rest of the world. The northern pillar (located in southern Spain) is entitled the Rock of Gibraltar while the southern pillar (located in Morocco, the northwest corner of Africa) is entitled “Jebel Musa”. According to Greek mythology, Hercules, the son of Zeus, had to perform twelve labors, the tenth of them being to fetch cattle from Geryon, a fearsome giant who dwelt on the island Erytheia in the far west of the Mediterranean. According to Roman sources, while on his way to the garden of the Hesperides on the island of Erytheia, Hercules had to cross a mountain that was once Atlas. Instead of climbing the great mountain, Hercules used his superhuman strength to smash through it, ultimately connecting the Mediterranean Sea with the Atlantic Ocean, thus forming the Strait of Gibraltar. According to Plato's account, the lost realm of Atlantis (Greenland) was situated beyond the Pillars of Hercules, effectively placing it in the realm of the "Unknown".

Columnas Plus Ultra
As the Greco-Roman Empire began exploring and expanding outside of the
Mediterranean Sea, their ships would sail back and forth between the Pillars of Hercules on which two massive white columns had been erected, likely making them visible from miles away. The twin white pillars, otherwise known as the Columnas Plus Ultra, were likely the first and last thing Roman soldiers and sailors saw when arriving to and departing from Rome. Consequently, the twin columns became synonymous with the Roman Empire and their exploration, domination and exploitation of the Earth though their various systems of commerce, money, slavery, trade and war. The Columnas Plus Ultra is currently depicted on the flag of flag of Spain, the coat of arms of Spain, and the coat of arms of Cadiz, a city in Spain in which the twin towers entitled “Torres de Hercules” are found.

Pillars of Hercules Symbology
Pillars of Hercules are most commonly symbolized by the number “11”, the letter “H”, the original dollar sign (i.e., the Cifrão), and the many twin towers which are found around the globe. In the Roman Score (i.e., the Roman alphabet), the letter “H” is located in the 11th numeric position for it represented the twin towers of the Columnas Plus Ultra with its "S" shaped ribbon. In the modern English alphabet, the letter “H” is located in the 8th numeric position—symbolizing “infinity” or “forever”. Coincidentally, in the Basque language of Spain, the number "eleven" has a double meaning of "infinite" or "endless".

Pillars of Hercules = The Dollar Sign
While modern historical accounts perpetuate the theory that the dollar sign was derived from the Spanish dollar which coincidentally depicts the Pillars of Hercules, evidence suggests that the dollar sign far predates King Philip V and his Spanish Empire. Although the dollar sign did originate from the Strait of Gibraltar region of Spain, it was unequivocally derived from the Columnas Plus Ultra, otherwise known as the Pillars of Hercules”. When the "S" shaped ribbon (see photo) is intertwined between the two columns, the original dollar sign (i.e., the Cifrão) is ultimately formed. The Greco-Roman origin of the dollar sign is further confirmed by the fact that the Roman coin entitled the “Sestertius” is minted with the letters “IIS” on the face of the coin. When superimposed, the letters “II” and “S” form the original dollar sign which has subsequently morphed into an “S” that’s superimposed with only one letter “I”.

Pillars of Hercules = Money
The “Pillars of Hercules”, also known as the Columnas Plus Ultra, are depicted (vertically, horizontally and diagonally) in the monetary symbols of 11 current world currencies (i.e., the Armenian dram, the Chinese Renminbi, the Costa Rican colon, the European Union’s Euro, the Indian rupee, the Japanese yen, the Kazakhstani tenge, the Mongolian tögrög, the Nigerian naira, the North Korean won, and the Philippine peso). Although the symbols for various currencies have been altered over the years, the double "II" markings which adorn them have not.

The Dollar Sign Today

The Greco-Roman
dollar sign is currently used as the official symbol for the currencies of 40 countries and territories around the world, 24 of which have their own dollar (i.e., the Australian dollar, the Bahamian dollar, the Barbados dollar, the Belize dollar, the Bermuda dollar, the Brunei dollar, the Canadian dollar, the Cayman Islands dollar, the East Caribbean dollar, the Fiji dollar, the Guyanese dollar, the Hong Kong dollar, the Jamaican dollar, the Kiribati dollar, the Liberian dollar, the Namibian dollar, the New Zealand dollar, the Singapore dollar, the Solomon Islands dollar, the Surinamese dollar, the New Taiwan Dollar, the Trinidad and Tobago Dollar, the Tuvaluan dollar, and the United States dollar). There are also 7 additional  countries and territories which use some form of a dollar as their respective currency (i.e., Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Nauru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines). A total of 9 other countries and territories currently use the U.S. dollar as their respective currency (i.e., East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Puerto Rico, and Zimbabwe). By enabling the use of a strong dollar in impoverished and weak countries and territories (e.g., the Caribbean and South America), a vicious econmic cycle is perpetuated on the population which ultimately invites and then maintains rampant small arms dealing, drug smuggling, money laundering and sex trade. This type of economic warfare is purposely designed to keep certain countries and territories on their knees both morally and economically. This system ensures that the ambitious can only overcome their respective poverty by participating in one or more of the aforementioned evils perpetrated onto their society.