Hall of Fame

Goalball Australia believes it is important to continue to recognise and remember the many people who's contributions over many years, have built this great sport; therefore we developed the Goalball Australia Hall of Fame. We inducted the first Hall of Fame members in 2014.

001 Terrence Kennaghan inducted 2014

Terry is widely credited for bringing Goalball to Australia and for assisting in the formation of ANGA (now GA). He coached NSW from 1981 through to 2001 and the Australian teams from 1984 - 1989 and again 1995 - 2000. Terry won in excess of ten national titles with NSW.

002 Robyn Bousie (nee Stephens) inducted 2014

Robyn played for Victoria in national competition from 1981 - 2000 and went on to coach the Australian women's team from 2002 - 2010. Robyn was also the secretary of ANGA from 1988 - 1990.

003 Warren Lawnton inducted 2014

Warren played Goalball for Australia at the Paralympic Games in 1992, 1996 and 2000, as well as the World Championships in 1994 and 1998. Warren went on to coach the Australian mens team from 2006-2008. In 1986 and 2001, Warren was named the NAIDOC Australia Aboriginal Sportsperson of the Year as well as the 2001 ATSIC Disabled Sportsperson of the Year.

004 Kevin Frew inducted 2015

Kevin represented Australia at the Paralympic Games in 1988, 1992, 1996 and 2000; along with World Championships in 1990, 1994 and 1998. On the national scene, Kevin played for NSW from 1988 through until 2001, winning the Highest Goal Scorer 3 times. In addition to his on-court commitments, Kevin was the Goalball Australia Vice-President 2002-2005 and Treasurer 2010-2012.

005 Anthony Telfer inducted 2015

Anthony represented Australia at the Paralympic Games in 1988 and World Championships in 1986 and 1990. In 2010 he coached New Zealand at the IBSA Oceania Regional Championships. Anthony's national playing career saw he represent 2 states: Victoria 1981 - 1990 and NSW in 1996, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2009-2011. He continues his involvement today coaching the NSW Juniors. Away from the court, Anthony was President of the Victorian Goalball Association 1987 - 1989. Tony continues to bring goalball to the world as a broadcaster for Blind Sports Radio and is Co-Founder and Broadcaster for the Disability Sports Network.

006 Marilyn Mills inducted 2016

Marilyn represented Australia at the Paralympic Games in 1988, 1992 and 1996 and the World Championships in 1986; as well as the FESPIC Games in 1994, the Oceania Challenge in 1989 and the USABA National Championships in 1990. Nationally, Marilyn represented NSW from 1984 - 1996, taking Gold in 1984, 1990, 1991 and 1996; whilst also winning Highest Goal Scorer in 1987. Off court, Marilyn was the President of NSW Blind Sports in 1985.

007 Warrick Jackes inducted 2016

Warrick has been refereeing Goalball since 1984 when he first took up the whistle at the local program in Queensland, and achieved his IBSA Referee Accreditation in 1997. Since this time, Warrick has refereed Goalball on the International stage for many years, including Paralympic Games 2000 and 2012, Oceania Challenge 2009, Asia-Oceania Invitational 2016 and the NZ National Championships since 2008. Warrick has been a referee at the Australian Goalball Championships since 1989 and also refereed the Australian Goalball Grand Prix 1995-1997 and the Pacific School Games in 2015. In addition, Warrick has been the Goalball Australia Referee's Coordinator since 2012 and is currently developing the Goalball Australia Officiating Pathway document.

008 Sam Theodore inducted 2017

Sam was the Australian Men's Goalball Coach from 1990 - 2000, including the Paralympic Games in 1992, 1996 and 2006. He oversaw Australia's best Paralympic result, when the team finished 4th at the 1996 Games in Atlanta. Sam also coached the Men's team at the World Championships in 1990, 1994 and 1998. Sam was also the Assistant Coach for the Australian Women's team in 2001. Nationally, Sam coached the Victorian team 1989 - 1998 and 2000-2003. As well as coaching, Sam has been heavily involved with the administration side of the sport as Goalball Australia Vice Presiden 1997 - 2001, and President 2001 - 2008. Sam is the current President of Blind Sports Australia.

009 Troy King inducted 2017

Troy represented Australia as a player for a number of years, including Paralympic Games in 2000, the FESPIC Games in 1999 and 2002, the Southern Cross Games in 1999 and the Trans-Tasman in 2004. Nationally, Troy has represented NSW 1992 - 2017 and ACT 2006, as well as contesting the Australian Goalball Grand Prix. Troy was also a member of the Goalball Australia Executive as Treasurer 2005-2009 and Vice President 2009-2011

010 Bailey Compton inducted 2018

Bailey first represented Australia in 1984 and was part of the team that won Bronze at the FESPIC Games in 1994. Nationally, Bailey represented NSW from 1982, winning Gold in 1984. Bailey was also active in the administration side of Goalball, writing the national constitution in 1987 and becoming the inaugural President of ANGA (now GA) in 1988; a position he again held 1991-1999. Bailey was also a member of the steering committee for the 2000 Paralympic Games in Sydney.