The state of Georgia extends from the Atlantic Ocean into the Blue Ridge Mountains. The state is divided into five regions based on its physical geography. 


The regions are the Coastal Plain, the Piedmont Region, the Blue Ridge Region, the Valley and Ridge Region, and the Appalachian Plateau.


Each of the regions has its own unique features. There are natural wonders, animals, and rivers that make up the different parts of Georgia.


Here are just a few of the natural beauties found in Georgia. To learn more about the different regions of Georgia click one of the links below.




This website will allow students to locate major topographical features of Georgia and will describe how these features define Georgia’s surface.

a. Locate all the geographic regions of Georgia: Blue Ridge Mountains, Piedmont, Coastal Plain, Valley and Ridge, and Appalachian Plateau.


b. Locate the major rivers: Ocmulgee, Oconee, Altamaha, Savannah, St. Mary’s, Chattahoochee, and Flint.