Brief History

Department of Geology was founded in 1976 and it was established on academic bases to produce skillful and efficient geologist in the different geological branches. The founding of the geology department came mainly to meet the need of different governmental and private sector institutes according to their needs. 

The department of geology offers degrees at  the undergraduate level ( Bachelor of science) and graduate level ( M.Sc. and PhD.).  Bachelor program in this department is four years, and master program is of two years. PhD programs spans 4 to 5 years. Undergraduate program focuses on various geological disciplines  and thus the students graduate with Bachelors in general geology.  For more information about the undergraduate curriculum please refer to the curriculum and coursebook page.

The Department also offer the following Masters and Doctorate programs in Geological sciences.

Petroleum Geology (M.Sc. and PhD)

Sedimentology (M.Sc. and PhD)

Hydrology and Hydrogeology (M.Sc. and PhD)

Geochemistry (M.Sc. and PhD)

Paleontology (M.Sc. and PhD)

Structural Geology (M.Sc. and PhD)

Industrial Geology (M.Sc. and PhD)