AGM and committee

The inaugural annual general meeting of the Gap o' the North Walking club was held in the Gap o' the North pub, Jonesborough Co. Armagh on the afternoon of Sunday 26th June 2011.


There were 32 people registered in attendance, constituting the founding membership of the club.


 The following motions were passed unaimously:  



-          That we establish the Gap o’ the North Walking Club

-          That we adopt the constitution posted on the club website:
-          That we adopt the ‘Groundrules for Hillwalkers’ and ‘Safety Rules’ posted on the club website

-          That we authorise the incoming committee to set and collect a subscription fee with one month’s notice to members if this should prove necessary before the next AGM, for example for insurance reasons

 The AGM was asked to elect a committee basically made up of the people who have already acted as leaders or helped out with scouting and general  organisation  over the last four months, and who are prepared to be trained up as qualified leaders over the next few months.

The following were elected to serve on the committee until the next AGM
Sean Phillips – Seamus Murphy – Terry Mulkerns –David McClelland – Brendan Morgan – Brian Hoey - Johanna Galligan - Josephine Flynn

The eight people elected met on 27th June and constituted themselves as the club committee.

They appointed the following officers of the club to serve until the next AGM, to be held in June 2012:

Chairman:                           Séamus Murphy

Secretary:                           Johanna Galligan

Treasurer:                           Josephine Flynn

The Committee made appointments to two other permanent officer posts:

Walks Organiser – Brian Hoey

Responsible for preparing a schedule of walks, planning and organisation of scouting, planning and organisation of walk leadership on the ground

Development Officer – Seán Phillips

Responsible for working towards the general development and tourism objectives set out in the club constitution and the Oriel Project discussion paper, for relationships with local government and other statutory agencies and for organising wider meetings of people with an interest in tourism and other development in the general area.