About Us‎ > ‎

Chapter History

The Gamma Omicron chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi was originally charted on January 31, 1956 as the 87th chapter nationally.  Professor Robert Westrich first served as chapter sponsor.  In the spring of 1964, however, the chapter disbanded.  

During the fall of 2008, the colonization process was started and progress began toward re-installation. Josh Howey played an instrumental role in the colonization process and would serve as president for the first two years of colonization.  Other brothers who held leadership roles in these early days included Mike Johnson, Kari Sims, Melissa Heckman, Greg Benson, Josh Reynolds, Janelle Myers, Melissa Sechnick, and Jen Blackburn.  The Eta chapter at OSU served as our advisory chapter and Tim Kalgreen, a Life Member from Eta, served as our colony advisor. We were officially re-installed on Saturday, February 26, 2011 with Derrick Mills serving as installing officer. At the time of installation, the chapter had 13 active brothers and 5 honorary members. As of the 2015-2016 school year, Gamma Omicron has grown to include 12 active members, 40 alumni, and 6 honorary members including our advisors Dr. Michael Yonchak and Dr. Joel Shonkwiler.