Driver Permit/License Information
Driver Eligibility Certificates: State law requires specific procedures regarding how students obtain and retain their driver’s permit and license. Students must have a Driving Eligibility Certificate in order to receive a North Carolina driver’s permit or license. The Division of Motor Vehicles will not issue a driver’s permit or license without a Driving Eligibility Certificate. This new legislation applies to all North Carolina students under the age of 18 who are eligible for a driving permit or license. The Driving Eligibility Certificate is a printed document issued by the school principal/designee and certifies that the student has demonstrated adequate progress in certifies that the student has demonstrated adequate progress in school.
To receive a Driving Eligibility Certificate (DEC Form): a student must maintain adequate academic progress. This is defined as passing at least 70% of their courses per school term. Driving Eligibility Certificates will not be issued to students who have not achieved this level of academic progress. A school term is defined as August-January or January–June. Mid-term grades in October or March cannot be used. Driving Eligibility Certificates DEC forms are available in the main office and are valid for 30 days once signed and sealed by the school designee.
In order to receive a completed DEC form with school seal, the student must bring to the main office the:
§ parent signed DEC Form
§ certified birth certificate or passport
§ Driver’s Education Certificate
§ School report card with the first or second term FINAL grades
Inadequate Academic Progress: Students who have received a NC Driver’s permit or license but did not maintain the required level of academic progress (based on January or June’s Report Card) will be reported to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Fuquay-Varina High School will notify the student/parents by mail of the student’s inadequate progress. The student/parent will then receive by mail from the Department of Motor Vehicles notification to surrender the permit or license. If a student’s permit or license is revoked, a new Driving Eligibility Certificate will be issued when the student regains eligibility status.
Dropping Out of School: By state law, students under 18 years of age, who drop out of school will have their permit or license revoked. Fuquay-Varina High School will notify the student/parents by mail of the student’s drop-out status. The student/parent will then receive by mail from the Department of Motor Vehicles notification to surrender the permit or license.
Lose Control, Lose Your License
The State of North Carolina has established legislation, effective July 1, 2000, requiring that a student’s driving permit or license be revoked for one year if a student is given a suspension for
more than 10 consecutive days or an assignment to an alternative educational setting for more than 10 consecutive days for one of the following reasons:
1. The possession or sale of an alcoholic beverage or an illegal controlled substance.
2. The possession or use on school property of a weapon or firearm that resulted in disciplinary action under G.S. 115C-391 (dl) or that could have resulted in that disciplinary action if the conduct had occurred in a public school.
3. The physical assault on a teacher or other school personnel on school property. School property is the physical premises of the school, school buses, or other vehicles under the school’s control or contract and that are used to transport students, and school-sponsored or school-related activities that occur on or off the physical premises of the school.
Students who are at least 14 years old or who are rising 8th graders on or after July 1, 2000, are subject to this law. Students who are 18 years old cannot be charged under this law.
Under the “ Lose Control, Lose Your License Law”, it is possible for a student to have his/her license suspended as a 17½ year old. When the student reaches 18 years of age, the student
may have the driver’s license re-instated if he/she has demonstrated and documented exemplary behavior.
A student can be eligible for a Driver’s Eligibility Certificate after a six-month period for displaying exemplary student behavior. The school principal or designee shall issue a Driving Eligibility Certificate to the student under the following conditions:
1. The student has returned to school or has been placed in an alternative educational setting and has displayed exemplary student behavior.
2. The student has successfully completed a drug or alcohol treatment-counseling program for a drug-related suspension and has demonstrated exemplary behavior.
Exemplary student behavior is defined as the student having no further incident of misconduct where expulsion, suspension, or an assignment to an alternative educational setting is required. Students found in violation of local school board policies addressing related behaviors would not qualify for having exemplary behavior.