Frank Ticheli (b. January 21, 1958) is an American born composer. His works are diverse and include pieces for concert band, orchestra, chorus, and various chamber groups. Ticheli graduated high school from L.V. Berkner High School in Richardson, Texas. Upon graduating high school, he attended Southern Methodist University in University Park Texas. Here he studied with Donald Erb and Jack Waldenmaier and earned his Bachelor of Music in Composition. Ticheli then studied with William Albright, Leslie Bassett, William Bolcom, and George Wilson and the University of Michigan, where he earned both his Master’s and Doctorate degrees in Composition.

Following completion of his degree’s, Ticheli became an Assistant Professor of Music in San Antonio, Texas at Trinity University. While in Texas, he was a member of the advisory committee for the San Antonio Symphony’s “Music of the Americas” project and also served on the board of directors of the Texas Composers Forum. From 1991 thru 1998, Ticheli was composer-in-residence with the Pacific Symphony Orchestra in Orange County, California. He has been a Professor of Composition at the University of Southern California’s Thorton School of Music since 1991.

Over his lifetime, Ticheli has been the recipient of many awards. He has received The Arts and Letters Award, Goddard Lieberson Fellowship, and Charles Ives Scholarship, all from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Ticheli has also received the National Band Association/Revelli Memorial Prize, the A. Austin Harding Award, and First Prize in the Texas Sesquicentennial Orchestral Composition Competition, the Britten-on-the-Bay Choral Composition Contest, and the Virginia CBDNA Symposium for New Band Music. At USC, he has received the Virginia Ramo Award for excellence in teaching, and the Dean’s Award for Professional Achievement.  In 2011, Ticheli even endowed the “Frank Ticheli Composition Scholarship” which is to be awarded to an incoming graduation composition student each year.

Ticheli's music has been described as being as "optimistic and thoughtful" by the Los Angeles Times, "lean and muscular" by the New York Times, "brilliantly effective" by the Miami Herald and "powerful, deeply felt crafted with impressive flair and an ear for striking instrumental colors" by the South Florida Sun-Sentinel. His works are published by Manhattan Beach, Southern, Hinshaw, and Encore Music and are recorded on the labels Albany, Chandos, Clarion, Equilibrium, Klavier, Koch International, Mark, Naxos, and Reference.

List of Works

For orchestra

  • Riffs for Steven (2010)
  • An American Elegy (2008)
  • Angels in the Architecture (2009)
  • Shooting Stars (2004)
  • Symphony No. 1 (2001)
  • Blue Shades (2002)
  • Radiant Voices (1993)
  • On Time's Stream (1995)
  • Postcard (1995)
  • Pacific Fanfare (1995)
  • Images of a Storm (1983)

For solo with orchestra

  • Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra (2011)
  • Symphony No. 1 (solo tenor or baritone) (2001)
  • An American Dream (with solo soprano) (1998)
  • Playing With Fire (for seven-piece jazz band and orchestra) (1992)
  • Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra (1990)

For chorus

  • Constellation: Three Poems of Sara Teasdale (2010)
  • Earth Song (2007)
  • The Song Within (2004)
  • There Will Be Rest (2000)

For concert band/wind ensemble

  • Songs of Love and Life, for soprano and 18 players (2012)
  • Concerto for Clarinet and Concert Band (2011)
  • San Antonio Dances (2011)
  • Rest (2011)
  • Amen! (2009)
  • Angels in the Architecture (2009)
  • The Tyger (2008)
  • Symphony No. 1 (transcribed by Gary Green)
  • Wild Nights! (2007)
  • Nitro (2006)
  • Sanctuary (2006)
  • Abracadabra (2005)
  • Joy Revisited (2005)
  • Joy (2005)
  • Symphony No. 2 (2004)
  • Ave Maria (2004)
  • A Shaker Gift Song (2004)
  • Pacific Fanfare (2003)
  • Loch Lomond (2002)
  • Simple Gifts: Four Shaker Songs (2002)
  • An American Elegy (2000)
  • Vesuvius (1999)
  • Shenandoah (1999)
  • Blue Shades (1997)
  • Sun Dance (1997)
  • Cajun Folk Songs II (1997)
  • Postcard (1994)
  • Gaian Visions (1994)
  • Amazing Grace (1994)
  • Cajun Folk Songs (1990)
  • Fortress (1989)
  • Portrait of a Clown (1998)
  • Music for Winds & Percussion (1988)
  • Concertino for Trombone and Band (1987)

For chamber ensemble

  • Concerto for Clarinet (2011)
  • Out of the Blue (2004)
  • Songs of Tagore (1992)
  • Back Burner (1989)
  • Here We Stand (1989)
  • Concertino for Trombone (1987)
  • The First Voice (1987)
  • String Quartet (1986)
  • Fantasy (1984)
  • Two Songs of Loss (1983)
  • Humouresque (1980)
  • Poltergeists (1980)
  • No Time (1980)
  • Three Movements (1979)
  • Trio for Brass (1978)