Plenty of Tools, Plenty of Ideas


Part 1 - Google stuff



* Google Docs, Spreadsheets, Presentations, Forms - docs.google.com
    feedback and revision on writing, data collection (forms), historical sites and significance
* Google Sites - sites.google.com
    online collaboration and presentation
* Blogger - blogger.com
    free blogs for writing, etc.
* Google Earth - earth.google.com (free program you can download)
    map sense, lit trips (googlelittrips.org), history (tinyurl.com/google-earth-history), using Panoramio pictures for asking questions
* Google Maps - maps.google.com
    safety online (Street View), history (tinyurl.com/calmissionsmap)
* Google SketchUp - sketchup.google.com (free program you can download)
    math and measurement, science and weather, language
* Google Books - books.google.com
    literature and history (choose Full View Only for to read the book)
* iGoogle - www.google.com/ig
    teacher resource homepage
* Google Search - Advanced Search by file type - google.com/advanced_search
    find a storyboard as a PDF
* Search, Learn, Share - searchlearnshare.com
    this engine returns web hits, news, blog posts, images, and video with one click
* Google for Educators - google.com/educators
    more ideas than could fit in a Googleplex cafeteria
* YouTube - youtube.com
    videos for anything - be careful! - (Hyperactive, Airport Applause, Car Commercial)



Part 2 - Other cool stuff




* Next Vista for Learning - nextvista.org
    saving the world from ignorance, one video at a time
* Zamzar - zamzar.com
    for playback without an internet connection or mashup
* Audacity - audacity.sourceforge.net
    build podcasts to show what you've learned
* Pod Safe Audio - podsafeaudio.com
    copyright-friendly music for projects (I usually go to "by music genre" on the right)
* Jamendo - jamendo.com
    copyright-friendly music for projects (I usually go to "by music genre" on the right)

* Partners in Rhyme - partnersinrhyme.com
    free sound effects amidst what they sell
* Voice Thread - voicethread.com
    have students build discussions that can be shared with others
* Photo Story - snurl.com/msps3
    easiest-ever video creator (PC only; for Macs, use iMovie, iLife, or GarageBand)
* Creative Commons Search - search.creativecommons.org
    following the law, learning about citation for reports
* CoolIris - cooliris.com
    visually compelling, great for vocabulary
* Tag Galaxy - taggalaxy.de
    another approach to looking at Flickr results
* Irfan View - irfanview.com
    adjust and convert graphics for presentations or videos, good for screen shots
* Glogster - glogster.com
    bring all sorts of media together in an online poster
* Jing - jingproject.com
    free screen capture software (limited to five minutes)
* Wikispaces - wikispaces.com
    collaborative web spaces for planning and projects (slideshowexchange.wikispaces.com)
* Ning - ning.com
    build your own social networking site (classroom20.ning.com)
* Freepath - freepath.com
    collaborate on files, media, links (PC only so far)
* Fresh Brain - freshbrain.org
    organization working to involve teachers in making online projects available to students
* Polleverywhere - polleverywhere.com
    teaching experience survey
* TinyURL - tinyurl.com and Snurl.com - snurl.com
    make a short version of that long URL
Metamark metamark.net
    make long and nasty URL's much shorter
* Urban Dictionary - urbandictionary.com
    what did they just say?



Sign up for the Next Vista newsletter here!



Trying to contact Rushton Hurley?  Use Next Vista's contact page at: http://www.nextvista.org/contact/.
Involved in one of his workshops?  It's probably this one: http://xrl.us/freetoolsday

Wanting some practice in grabbing copyright-friendly images?  Try this: http://xrl.us/CFimages
Here's that Scouting video I probably showed: http://nextvista.org/rhvideos/bsa-recruitment.mov