Kentucky Workers Compensation Law

Kentucky Workers Comp Quick Facts

The following represent the state of the law as of January 1, 2006. Please note that worker's compensation law can be complex and these laws and policies are subject to amendment at any time. If you need help with a worker's compensation issue, please consult a licensed attorney.

Is Worker's Compensation Compulsory? Yes

Are Waivers Permitted? Yes

Numerical Exceptions: None.

Choice of Physician: Employee makes the initial choice of physician. Employee selects from a list supplied by carrier on managed care organization when medical care is provided through an authorized managed care arrangement.

Waiting Period For Comp Benefits After Injury: 7 days

Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for what period of time from the date of injury? More than 2 weeks

Attorney Fees Permitted: 20% first $25,000; 15% next $10,000; 5% balance up to a maximum of $12,000, statute

Adams County, Harrison County, Parke County, Allen County, Hendricks County, Perry County, Bartholomew County, Henry County, Pike County, Benton County, Howard County, Porter County, Blackford County, Huntington County, Posey County, Boone County, Jackson County, Pulaski County, Brown County, Jasper County, Putnam County, Carroll County, Jay County, Randolph County, Cass County, Jefferson County, Ripley County, Clark County, Jennings County, Rush County, Clay County, Johnson County, Saint Joseph County, Clinton County, Knox County, Scott County, Crawford County, Kosciusko County, Shelby County, Daviess County, LaGrange County, Spencer County, De Kalb County, Lake County, Starke County, Dearborn County, LaPorte County, Steuben County, Decatur County, Lawrence County, Sullivan County, Delaware County, Madison County, Switzerland County, Dubois County, Marion County, Tippecanoe County, Elkhart County, Marshall County, Tipton County, Fayette County, Martin County, Union County, Floyd County, Miami County, Vanderburgh County, Fountain County, Monroe County, Vermillion County, Franklin County, Montgomery County, Vigo County, Fulton County, Morgan County, Wabash County, Gibson County, Newton County, Warren County, Grant County, Noble County, Warrick County, Greene County, Ohio County, Washington County, Hamilton County, Orange County, Wayne County, Hancock County, Owen County, Wells County, Harrison County, Parke County