About Alabama's Worker's Compensation Act

No Fault Compensation and Benefits
Alabama's Worker's Compensation Act provides injured workers limited compensation and medical benefits without the injured worker having to show that the employer was at fault in causing the worker's injuries.  There are  exemptions. These are: domestic servants, farm laborers, casual employees, and employers who regularly employ less than five employees.

You are entitled to Injury or Death Liability
An employer is liable under the Alabama Worker's Compensation Code for benefits where there is an injury or death of an employee caused by an accident arising out of and in the course of employment. Cumulative trauma and continuous exposure is also covered.

You have 5 Days to Report Injuries
Generally, notice must be given to an employer within five days and the notice should be in writing. A savings clause indicates that notice can be provided up to 90 days from the accident, but an employee may forfeit benefits up to the time of notification if the employer is not notified within five days.

Alabama Statute of Limitation is 2 years from Date of Injury
The Alabama Worker's Compensation Code also provides for civil non-jury trials of all worker's compensation actions. Those civil actions are declared to be preferred actions to be tried as expeditiously as possible. The Statute of Limitations for such action is two years from the date of the accident, or two years from the date that the employee was last paid compensation, whichever is later.

Autauga County, Dale County, Marengo County, Baldwin County, Dallas County, Marion County, Barbour County, DeKalb County, Marshall County, Bibb County, Escambia County, Mobile County, Blount County, Etowah County, Monroe County, Bullock County, Fayette County, Montgomery County, Butler County, Franklin County, Morgan County, Calhoun County, Geneva County, Perry County, Chambers County, Greene County, Pickens County, Cherokee County, Hale County, Pike County, Chilton County, Henry County, Randolph County, Choctaw County, Houston County, Russell County, Clarke County, Jackson County, Saint Clair County, Clay County, Jefferson County, Shelby County, Cleburne County, Lamar County, Sumter County, Coffee County, Lauderdale County, Talladega County, Colbert County, Lawrence County, Tallapoosa County, Conecuh County, Lee County, Tuscaloosa County, Coosa County, Limestone County, Walker County, Covington County, Lowndes County, Washington County, Crenshaw County, Macon County, Wilcox County, Cullman County, Madison County, Winston County