Thank you for attending our


Vappu Celebration and Spring Party


Sunday, April 28 at 3:00 pm

Scandinavian Cultural Center

206 Waltham Street, Newton, MA


Have a great summer! See you in September!


President: Linda Lindell (Lexington, MA); 
President Elect: To Be Announced; 
Treasurer: Anne-Mari Paster (Lexington, MA);
Clerk: Teresia Moller (Framingham, MA);
Program Chair: Ilona Jokinen (Northboro, MA);
Hospitality Chair: Sirkku Konttinen (Belmont, MA);
Membership Chair: Liisa Chanoff (Marlborough, MA);
Newsletter Editors: Greta Ljung (Lexington, MA) and Tapani Ronni (Medford, MA);
Scholarship Chair: Edith Syrjälä-Eash (Lexington);
Suomi-koulu Liaison: Ilona Jokinen (Northboro, MA); 
Nominating Committee: Nathalie Forssell (Sudbury, MA), Kim Bell (Holliston, MA), Saana McDaniel (Lexington,MA)

President's report 2018 can be found using the link on the left sidebar. Our latest newsletter is here:
February Newsletter 2019

FF-Boston invites members and friends to a lecture by

Dr. Riikka Pietiläinen-Caffrey

"Choral music tradition in Finland"
Sunday, February 24, 3:00 pm
Scandinavian Cultural Center
206 Waltham Street, Newton, MA

Finland has always been famous for its choral tradition, composers, and beautiful choral repertoire. In this interactive lecture we will take a look at how the ensembles and the tradition has changed over the course of the past twenty years. We will watch video performances of some of the best known Finnish choral ensembles, and hear music by Finnish choral composers. In the end all audience members will get to participate in singing traditional Finnish songs.

Dr. Riikka Pietiläinen-Caffrey is an associate professor of music at Bunker Hill Community College. Riikka, a native Finn, has toured Europe and South America with the internationally-acclaimed Finnish choir, Philomela. Riikka is an active conductor, singer, and vocal coach, and is frequently invited as a soloist, adjudicator, and guest clinician for schools and choral ensembles, both in Europe and within the United States. Her compositions and arrangements have been published by Alliance Music Publications and Kandinsky Music. Riikka's research interests include holistic choral experience, vocal pedagogy, mindfulness in choirs, and the mirror neuron system. Her article "Monkey See, Monkey Do - The Choral Conductor and the Mirror Neuron System" was published in the United States in The Choral Journal as well as in the Australian National Choral Association's national publication, Sing Out! Riikka holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the City College of City University of New York as well as Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees from the University of Colorado.