The Filipino American

Foundation of New Mexico

Proudly Serving the Filipino American Community in the Rio Grande Region

  membership form | constitution and by-laws | fafnm cultural dance group

fanhs rio grande | pinoy-new mexico | kulintang ensemble of albuquerque|newsletters

  Calendar | contact us | NEW!Pinoy Youth Corner


Welcome to the Filipino American Foundation of New Mexico
visit our new site at 

About FAFNM...

The Filipino-American Foundation of New Mexico’s (FAFNM) mission is to promote the recognition and maintenance of the distinctive values and historical heritage of Filipinos while striving to enhance the well-being of Filipinos through education, health, and economic services.

We are a 501(C-3) Non-Profit Organization. The FAFNM achieved 501 C-3 non-profit status officially 2005.

 2009 Officers and Board of Directors:

Pres.:  Cora Romillo          VP:      Emilie Underwood      Sec.:   Maida Malby           Treas.:Carmenia Alfonso           
Celia Tomlinson
Connie Perkins
Sonia Baniqued 
Armeli Bertram
Chris Zafra
Carminia Garver 
Senlin Garver
Myrna Samson  
Evelio Sabay                           Cris Underwood        

Support our sponsors and Filipino owned businesses

Abq Direct Cargo - Balikbayan Boxes to the Philippines at affordable and unbeatable prices.                                  Call Mayolo today 505.850.3260                Bonded

UMac Express Cargo, Inc

Kidstale Puppets, Books and DVDs Tess Greenfield 505.341.2281

 Abq Promotional Products

The Print Stop  

 Ilaw Limited Edition Lamps and Lanterns  by Ver Velasco

ForEx Balikbayan Boxes and Remittances- call Linda @ 505.280.2019

Maida Ruaza-Malby, LUTCF  Financial Professional Agent, New York Life Insurance  Company 505.903.0202

New Board of Directors and Officers


During the last Christmas Party on December 6, 2008 held at the Cesar Chavez Community Center gym, the General Assembly voted by acclamation the following to join the Fil-Am Foundation of New Mexico's Board of Directors:


Armeli Bertram

Sonia Baniqued

Connie Perkins

Cora Romillo

Evelio Sabay

Cris Underwood

Emilie Underwood

They were sworn in by Rio Rancho Vice-Mayor Mr. Michael Williams. 


The following are still serving the remainder of their term:

Carmenia Alfonso

Carminia Garver

Senlin Garver

Maida Ruaza-Malby

Myrna Samson

Celia Tomlinson

Chris Zafra 


The BoD then elected the following to become Officers for 2009:

President - Cora Romillo

Vice President - Emilie Underwood

Secretary - Maida Ruaza-Malby

Treasurer - Carmenia Alfonso

Committee Chairs are as follows:

Membership Chair: Maida Ruaza-Malby

Co-Chair: Sonia Baniqued


Scholarship Chair: Myrna Samson


Special Events Co-Chairs: Carminia and Senlin Garver


Outreach Chair: Cris Underwood

Co-Chair (Albuquerque): Christian Zafra

Co-Chair (Rio Rancho): Connie Perkins


Cultural Chair: Evelio Sabay

Check out the Calendar of Activities for the Events and General Assembly Meetings